Skip to main content

Full text of "One hundred years of Mount Pulaski, Illinois: 1836 - 1886 - 1936"

See other formats


1SITY OF ILLINOIS 

LIBRARY 
r 3ANA-CHAMPAIGN 

HIST. SURVEY 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign 



http://archive.org/details/onehundredyearsoOOstri 



FOUNDER OF MOUNT PULASKI 




JABEZ CAPPS 



Born Sept. 9, 1796 
Died April 1, 1896 



. FIRST GIRL BORN IN MOUNT PULASKI 




MRS. PRUDENCE ANN CAPPS BEIDLER 



Born Dec. 18, 1841 
Died Dec. 7, 1926 



°7 / /. :> 3 ' 







100 l]edrs of Tllourit Pulaski 



By LAWRENCE B. STRINGER 

s 

The hill upon which Mount Pulaski is situated was the product 
\>f the glacial age. Eons ago, when crystalline fleets from the arctic 
were carrying rich cargoes of soil to what is 
now central Illinois, ice-formed crafts deposited 
their loads of silt in isolated places. 

One of these places, being on the fortieth 
degree of latitude, north, and near the nintieth 
degree of longitude, west, was the "mount" of 
Mount Pulaski. 



..... LOCATION 

The surface of the country around and about Mount Pulaski is 
an undulating prairie. To the north, about two miles, it is the main 
channel of Salt creek, a tributary of the Sangamon river. About 
seven miles to the south is the Lake fork of Salt Creek. 

In prehistoric days, Salt creek was a considerable stream. 
Ferdinand Ernst, a Hanoverian traveler, who saw it in 1819 and 
wrote about it, called it a "navigable stream." The Kickapoo Indi- 
ans called it the "Onaquispasippi" or "the river of the shell-bark 
hickories." 

In the same days, the Lake fork of Salt creek was a veritable 
lake, covering thousands of acres at high water. At low tide, its 
bordering lands were marshy moors, where dee r and wild fowl held 
high carnival. 

The earliest settlers were wont to hug to the timbered banks 
of streams, where water and wood were handily accessible. They 
considered the prairies, by reason of wild-grass and wind-swept 
fires, together with lack of shade and shelter, as negligibly habit- 
able. 

THE ABORIGINES 

When Illinois was admitted into the Union as a sovereign 
state in 1818, there were no white settlements in what is now Logan 
county. The lands in the Salt creek valley were, and for more than 
\0 



a century had been, inhabited by roving bands of the Kickapoo 
tribe, in whom possessory title was vested. 

Civilization came into the Sangamon and Salt creek valley by 
way of an old Indian trail which left the Mississippi near the present 
site of Alton and wound out and into the heart of what is now Illi- 
nois, past the present sites of Edwardsville, Carlinville, Springfield 
and Lincoln and on to Lake Peoria. 

During the war of 1812, Gov. Edwards, of the then territory 
of Illinois, led a band of mounted rangers along this ancient trail, 
from the Mississippi to the Illinois river, past Elkhart hill and across 
Salt creek in what is now Logan county and the trail thereafter be- 
came known as "the Edwards' trace." 

On July 30, 1819, the Kickapoo chieftains, more or less under 
duress, relinquished all their right and title to the lands in the 
Sangamon and Salt creek valleys to the United States for a trifling 
consideration which was never met in whole. 

FIRST COUNTY SETTLEMENTS 

Anticipating the Kickapoo treaty and the opening to settlers 
of the Kickapoo land, James Latham and family, coming from Ken- 
tucky in part by way of the Edwards' trace, located at Elkhart hill 
in the spring of 1819. 

In the fall of the same year, Robert Musick and family located 
on Sugar creek, northwest of the present side of Lincoln. The La- 
tham and Musick settlements were the first white settlements in 
what is now Logan county. 

Events followed. Official proclamation of the Kickapoo treaty 
was made in 1821. In the same year, Sangamon county was created, 
including therein all of what is now Logan county. The then new 
settlement of Springfield became the county seat. 

The government land office was opened for formal entries of 
land in a double log cabin in Springfield, November third, 1823. 
First entry of present Logan county lands was made by James La- 
tham, November nineteenth, 1824. Robert Musick entered the next 
day. Nine days later, James Turley entered. 

Official dates of entries in land office records, however, are 
only approximately indicative of dates of actual settlement. Formal 
entries required cash in hand. Settlers did not always have it. 
First locating, they then held by occupation until able to meet re- 
quirements. Possessory claims were often sold but never "jumped." 

EARLY TRAILS 

An early pioneer trail left the old Edwards' trace at Spring- 
field in a northeasterly direction. It entered present Logan county 



near present Cornland thence to the hill where Mount Pulaski now 
stands, thence to Salt Creek following that stream to the present 
Logan-Dewitt county line. 

Another trail also left the trace at Springfield, ran near present 
llliopolis and wandered across the Lake fork proper, meeting the 
former trail at the hill of present Mount Pulaski. Later, both trails 
became established roads. 

Early settlers, following these trails, established two general 
groups of settlements in the vicinity of present Mount Pulaski, one 
to the north, known as the "Salt creek country", the other on lands 
adjacent to the Lake fork, known as the "Lake fork country." Later, 
they became political precincts. 

THE LAKE FORK COUNTRY 

The first settlements in the vicinity of present Mount Pulaski 
were in the Lake fork country. To this locality, soon after the La- 
tham settlement at Elkhart hill, came three adventurous spirits, 
Jeremiah Birks, Robert Buckles and James Turley, and their respec- 
tive families. 

The Birks and Buckles came together, Mary, the daughter of 
Jeremiah Birks, being the wife of Robert Buckles. With Robert 
Buckles, came his three sons, Jeremiah, William R., and John. Later 
his parents, John, and Anna Buckles, joined the settlement. 

With Jeremiah Birks and wife, Elizabeth, came eight children. 
In all, he was the father of fourteen children, five of whom, Roland, 
Rial, Isom, David and Richard, later entered lands for themselves. 
The Steenbergen cemetery, in which Jeremiah Birks is buried, was 
laid out on his farm. 

James Turley and wife, Agnes, located near present Lake Fork 
station. He was the father of fourteen children, among them Char- 
les and George W., who, with their respective families, located near 
their father's location. James Turley was an arbitrator for the re- 
maining Indians, who called him "Big Chief." 

George W. Turley, son of James, was one of the founders of 
Mount Pulaski and, as a justice of the peace, presided at law suits 
in which Abraham Lincoln participated. He laid out the embryo 
town of "Georgetown", which appears on many early maps of the 
state, but which was superseded by Mount Pulaski. 

Robert Buckles was an early commissioner of Logan county. 
He died in 1866. His wife, Mary, otherwise known as "Polly", at 
her death in 1888, was the ancestor of 287 descendants, mostly 
living. 

. . . . THE SALT CREEK COMPANY 

The first permanent settlement in the Salt creek country, in 



the vicinity of present Mount Pulaski, was made by Robert Down- 
ing. With him, came his wife, Jane Morrow Downing, and his par- 
ents, John and Hannah Downing. Also about the same time, came 
his brother and wife, James and Ruth Downing. 

Robert Downing was the father of nine children, his sons being 
John, Lorenzo, Alexander, Henry and Robert. John Downing enter- 
ed land near his father's location. Robert Downing was a Black 
Hawk war veteran and member of the first board of commissioners 
of Logan county. He died in 1887, aged ninety-three years. 

Shortly following the Downing settlement, the Vandeventers, 
John, William, Abraham and James, among others, came to the 
Salt creek bottoms. John Vandeventer's mill was well known to the 
pioneers. Other early land entrants of this period were Charles 
Brady, Andrew Lee, Samuel Evans and Preston and Champion Pend- 
leton. 

Closely following the Vandeventer settlements and of an equal 
permanent character were those made by Eli Fletcher, Nicholas 
Moore, the Shoups, John, Thomas, Jacob and James, the Laugherys, 
David and Nathan, James Morrow and Samuel Martin. 

Eli Fletcher and wife, Marion, were the parents of five children, 
Moses, Martin, Ann, Mary and Sarah. Zachariah Fletcher was also 
an early land entrant. The Laugherys were a well known pioneer 
family. James Morrow and wife, Jane, were the parents of six child- 
ren, and Samuel Martin and wife, Nancy, were the parents of one 
son, John D. 

John Shoup, above named, was an early captain of militia, 
was one of the first board of commissioners of the county and lat- 
er an assistant associate justice of the county court. The original 
organization meeting of Logan county was held at his house on the 
north side of Salt creek. 

THE FIRST DECADE 

Following the early settlements already noted, and within the 
period of the first decade of county history, I 820 to I 830, inclu- 
sive, permanent locations in the Lake fork country were made by 
John Turner, Abraham LuGas, Michael Mann, Thomas R. Skinner, 
George Girtman, Carter Scroggin, William Everly, John and Wil- 
liam Copeland, Anthony Ridgeway, John Voshall and James Wade. 

Other land entries, as shown by the government records, dur- 
ing the decade or there-abouts, included Lewis, Lucien and Char- 
les Barney, Larkin and John Johnson, Solomon and Barnabas Blue, 
Thomas Suddeth, Landon Key, John McGee, Robert Cass, Cornelius 
Dunham and Benjamin and Isaac Constant. 

During the decade, many of the old trails were re-marked as 
Sangamon county roads by the county commissioners. James Tur- 



ley was frequently appointed "road viewer" and road district 
superintendents included George W. Turley, Oraneal Clark and 
John Lucas. A precinct election was held at the house of John 
Buckles in 1827. 

PIONEER FAMILIES 

Carter Scroggin came to the Lake fork country with his wife, 
Phoebe, and his sons, Leonard K., Thomas J., Russell and Humphrey. 
About the same time came John Scroggin, who was a Black Hawk 
war veteran. Carter Scroggin was the father of ten children. He 
died in 1859 and his wife in 1876. 

Leonard K., son of Carter Scroggin, married Levina Buckles and, 
after her death, Rhoda, daughter of George Girtman. He was the 
parent! of thirteen children. He was closely identified with the com- 
munity life of Mount Pulaski, built substantial brick structures in the 
town and, at his death, was one of the most extensive landowners in 
the state. 

Thomas J., also son of Carter Scroggin, entered land in pre- 
sent Elkhart township, near the Mount Pulaski township line, in which 
according to the government report, a postoffice was established 
at an early date, named "Scroggin", with Thomas J. as postmaster. 

Abraham Lucas came to the Lake fork country in the later 
twenties, with his wife, Marcy, and several children. Among his 
children were John, Joseph, Thomas, Jesse K., James and Jabez. 
Several of these entered lands for themselves in the Lake fork sec- 
tion. 

John Lucas, son of Abraham, was one of the most prominent 
men in public service. Elected Justice of the Peace when just of age, 
he was later chosen Sheriff of the county and, still later, a member 
of the State Legislature. 

Joseph Lucas assisted in the building of the first state house 
in Springfield, now the county court house. A further Lake fork 
settlement was made by George B. Lucas, who was the first Coroner 
of Logan county. 

Michael Mann, a Baptist minister, aTso the first Probate Justice 
of Logan county, came to the Lake fork in 1828, with his wife, Eliza- 
beth, his sons, Abraham, John L., Jacob, Henry and Philip and sev- 
en daughters. He founded at Big Grove, near present Atlanta, one 
of the first churches in the county. 

The Copeland family, represented by John D. William, Isaac 
and Abraham, made settlement in the southernmost portion of pre 
sent Mount Pulaski township, south of Lake fork, in the section now 
marked by the church and school which bears the family name. 

Thomas R. Skinner, named above, was the first Surveyor of Lo- 



gan county and surveyed Mount Pulaski. He was elected County 
Judge in 1849, when that office was first created, and continued as 
such until his death in 1857. He was the son of Washington Skinner. 

. THE DEEP SNOW 

One of the most outstanding events in the early history of the 
Sangamon and Salt creek valleys occurred in the winter of 1830-31- 
It was known as "the deep snow." So pronounced was the event 
that occurrences were afterwards dated as being either before or 
after the deep snow* 

Snow began to fall in the latter part of November and contin- 
ued, with brief intervals, until it reached a level of four feet by Feb- 
ruary following. Winds formed mountain drifts, obliterating trails 
and covering cabins. Occasional rains made a crust of ice over 
the snow. 

Corn, ungathered, was inaccessible. Wood supplies were bur- 
ied. Stock froze or starved. Settlers, penned in their rude cabins, 
had short rations; in instances, none. Mills could not operate. Suf- 
fering from cold and hunger was prevalent. 

Prior to the "deep snow", cotton had been a staple crop. There 
were numerous cotton mills along the Sangamon. The "deep snow" 
changed the climate and thereafter cotton raising was abandoned. 

In, all the years following the "deep snow", the pioneers, who 
had survived the same were known ; as "snow birds" and were given 
posts of honor at all pioneer gatherings and reunions. 

THE SUDDEN FREEZE 

Another remarkable climatic event, known as the "sudden 

freeze", followed the "deep snow" six years later- Like the "deep 

snow," it has not been paralleled since. It occurred December 
twentieth, 1836. 

A warm rain had been falling, when suddenly a cyclonic gale 
swept from the north at a rate of seventy miles an hour. The ther- 
mometer marking is said to have dropped forty degrees in a few 
seconds and continued to drop until it reached forty degrees be- 
low zero. 

Cattle, hogs and chickens froze in their tracks. Stock perished. 
Men on horseback on the prairies barely escaped with rheir lives. 
A local illustration was the case of James Harvey Hildreth of the 
Salt creek country. 

Hildreth and a companion were on their way to Chicago when 
the change came. They saved their lives by killing one of the horses, 
disembowelling it and then crawling into the inviscerated carcass 
of the animal. 



Even then, Hildreth's toes and fingers were so frozen as to 
necessitate amputation of all, and, still later, his left leg. He con- 
tinued a cripple to his death, which occurred in Mount Pulaski in 
1858. 

PIONEER LIFE 

At the time of the "deep snow" and for many years thereafter, 
the only habitations of the pioneers were log cabins, some single, 
others double. The latter were marks of distinction. Cabin roofs 
were of "shakes," often held down by weighted poles. The interstic- 
es between the logs were clay-mortared. 

Cabin floors, when not of split logs, called "puncheons", were 
of bare earth. Single split-stick chimneys were held together with 
mud. Doors were clapboards, secured to wooden hinges by wooden 
pins. Wooden latches were operated by strips of buckskin. 

First cabins knew neither nails nor glass. Windows were aper- 
tures cut in the logs and covered with oil papper. Tallow dips furn- 
ished light at night. Cooking was done in open fire-places and corn 
meal, dried pumpkins and "hog-meat" constituted the bill of fare. 

Furniture was home-made and crude. Bedsteads were located 
in corners with single posts and side poles therefrom inserted be- 
tween the outside logs- Ropes, woven back and forth, supported 
mattresses of straw or corn-husks. Tables and chairs were of split 
slabs. 

Clothing was homespun and woven. Spindle and loom were 
the factories- Wool was carded by hand. Jeans and 'lindseys', made 
from flax, were colored by the walnut bark. Going barefoot was 
varied in winter by the use of buckskin moccasins. 

Quiltings, husking "bees" and barn dances constituted the so- 
cialities- Wells,, where dug, were operated by pivoted sweeps. Cav- 
es were refrigerators. Fire came from steel and flint. Coffee was 
charred corn and sugar came from maple sap or wild honey. 

PIONEER FARMING 

Pioneer agriculture was necessarily crude. Plows were of wood, 
rendered soil-penetrable to a short depth by bar-shares of iron 
attached- They were more back-breaking than soil-breaking! Scour- 
ing was done by wooden paddles. Seed was hand-dropped; wheat 
cut by sickle and cradle and threshed by alternate flails. 

Corn was shelled by hand. Wagons were home made, the 
wheels being sliced from the ends of rounding logs. Their irregular 
rotations emitted squeaks that could be heard great distances. 
Tops of trees were used for harrows. 

The first pioneers made corn-meal by grating the corn on tin 



perforated graters. Grain was also cracked and pounded in crude 
wooden pestles and mortars. Handmills, with two discs of stone im- 
pinged upon each other, came a little later- 
Grists or band mills were an improvement. They had wheels at- 
tached to crude grinders, operated by horses or oxen pawing 
treads or walking around in a circle. Water mills at eligible points 
finally took their places and farmers with grain waited their turns 
for grinding, often for days at a time, camping out the meanwhile. 

IN THE THIRTIES 

The incident of the "deep snow" rather retarded settlement 

for about a year, but settlement and entries of land began anew 

in 1833- Many entries were made by land speculators from other 
points with a view to future profits. 

Among those who made permanent locations in the Lake fork 
section, following the "deep snow" and prior to the founding of 
Mount Pulaski were: 

Baldwin and Samuel Harper, David Sims, John and Andrew 
Huston, Drury Martin, Squire Foster, Hugh Collins, Elijah Friend, 
John England, James Powers, Stephen Lloyd, Benjamin Davis, James 
and Thomas Gardner, Ninian Cass, Samuel Fleming, John Gillett, 
John C. Laughlin, Elisha Parks, Joshua Day, Riley Barber and Alex- 
ander Rigdon. 

Surnames of other Lake fork entrants during this period also in- 
clude Hedrick, Myers, Starr, Price, Brown, Lynn, St. Clair, Hitchkiss, 
Trent, Mitchell, White, Steele, Armstrong, Gillis, Stillman, Fenner, 
Reynolds, Adams, Galoway and others. 

Among those making settlements in the Salt creek section in 
the above mentioned period were: 

Alfred, John and Sampson Sams, William Hackney, James, 
Brooks and Willoughby Randolph, Henry Dement, John P. Wiley, 
William Mason, David Witter, Asa French, John Klein, Moses, 
Washington and Granville Patterson, James and Joshua Bell, Wil- 
liam Frakes and Theodore and John Lawrence. 

In 1835, the Lake Fork and Salt creek sections became definite 
election precincts of Sangamon county. The first election that year 
in Lake fork precinct was held at the house of Jeremiah Buckles, 
with Jeremiah Birks, William Copeland and Robert Buckles as elec- 
tion judges- 

In the same year, George Girtman, John Lucas and Thomas L. 
Scroggin were appointed road viewers and John Vandeventer was 
qranted a license to erect a mill dam on Salt creek in present Ches- 
ter township. 



THE TOWNSITE CRAZE 

The year 1836 was noted in early central Illinois history as the 
year of the "townsite craze." The rapid rise of Chicago and the re- 
sulting profits in town lots precipitated the "craze." New townsites 
were laid out in all directions, most of which were never more 
than paper towns- 

Among these embryo towns which did not survive was one 
called "Madison," laid out in April of 1836 by one William Car- 
penter in present Chester township, near present Pleasant Grove 
school. Thomas Neale was the surveyor and the chain carriers were 
Alexander Morrow and William Vandeventer. 

James Randolph later laid out the unsurviving town of London 
in present Aetna township, along Salt creek- The town of Postville, 
westward on Salt creek, was also laid out in 1836. Likewise, in the 
same year, came into existence the town of Mount Pulaski. 

JABEZCAPPS 

The story of the founding of Mount Pulaski begins with the 
early history of Jabez Capps, who came to America from England 
in 1817 and three years later located in Calhoun, the early Sanga- 
mon county town which began and became part of Springfield. 

He first followed the profession of school teaching, taught the 
first school in Sangamon county on the south fork of the Sangamon 
river and later taught the first school established in Springfield. 

Still later, he opened one of the first general stores in Spring- 
field in a log building which housed the first postoffice of Spring- 
field. He also established a branch store at Vandalia, then the capi- 
tal of Illinois. 

His first contact with Abraham Lincoln, who was his lifetime 
friend, was on the occasion of a dinner given in honor of the first 
steamboat which tried to navigate the Sangamon. Mr. Lincoln had 
navigated the boat and the dinner was held at Mr. Capps' place. 

Mr. Capps was united in marriage in 1829 to Prudence Ann 
Stafford. Four sons blessed the union, three of whom survived to 
maturity, Charles S., Ebeneezer S., and Oliver T. After the death 
of his first wife, he married Elizabeth Baker, to which union ten 
other children were born. 

THE BEGINNING 

Residing at the home of Mr. Capps in Springfield, was one 
Dr. Alexander Shields, who had located in 1835 for the practice of 
his profession. In the spring of the next year, he married Ann, wi- 
dow of William Salisch, a sister of Mr. Capps. 



tin mi 3° "° 



In the spring of l#36, Dr. Shields was called on a professional 
visit to the home of Nicholas Moore at "Hurricane Point", in the 
Salt creek settlement, northeast of present Mount Pulaski. Journey- 
ing by horseback, he noted the hill upon which Mount Pulaski is 
located as being an eligible site for a town. 

On his return to Springfield, Dr. Shields communicated his 
discovery to Mr. Capps. Dr. Barton Robinson, physician from Buffalo 
Grove, heard the conversation and became interested. Soon after, 
Capps and Robinson visited the site in company with George W. 
Turley. 

The visit resulted in the formation of a sort of townsite com- 
pany, composed primarify of Jabez Capps, Barton Robinson, James 
T. Robinson, George W. Turley, J. F« Davis, Alexander Lindsay, 
James Scott, George McDaniels and George Rice, who were later 
named as proprietors of the new iownsite. 

DEDICATION 

As agent for the above named persons, Barton Robinson, on 
July fifth, 1836, entered four hundred acres of land in section four- 
teen, township eighteen, range two west, one hundred and forty 
acres of which was to constitute the new townsite. 

On July twentieth following, Thomas R. Skinner, an assistant coun- 
ty surveyor of Sangamon county, co-worker with Abraham Lincoln 
and a settler in the Lake fork country, surveyed the proposed town- 
site and certified to same- The chain carriers were Samuel Wade 




COUNT PULASKI 



Casimir Pulaski was born in Po- 
land March 4, 1747. He was a 
military genius who was com- 
pelled to flee from his country 
during a civil and religious war- 
fare. He joined the staff of Gen- 
eral George Washington in 1777. 
His unselfish devotion to the Am- 
erican cause of liberty will for- 
ever enshrine him as one of the 
most lovable and heroic figures 
of the Revolutionary period. Gen- 
eral Pulaski died October I I , 
1779 from a mortal wound re- 
ceived in the battle of Savannah. 

Mount Pulaski residents 
well be proud of this hero 
point to his life 
pride. 



can 
and 
with justifiable 



and D. F. Kinney. The townsite included forty-five blocks, block twen- 
ty-three of same being set apart as a "public square." 

On the twenty-second of July, Barton Robinson, in his own 
name and in the name of the aforesaid proprietors, made dedica- 
tion of the townsite before Thomas Moffett, justice of the peace, 
which was officially recorded August seventeenth, 1836. 

In the dedication of July twenty-second, the new townsite was 
given the name it has borne for a century and still bears, the name 
of Mount Pulaski. It is said to have been named for Count Pulaski 
of Revolutionary tame. 

Subsequently, in December of 1836, the lands entered by Bar- 
ton Robinson, including the blocks and lots in the townsite, were 
deeded to separate ownership and the proprietorship company 
then ceased to be. 

CAPPS HEADQUARTERS 

Immediately after the laying out of the new townsite, Jabez 
Capps began preparations to remove from Springfield to Mount 
Pulaski. It is stated upon his own authority that in disposing of his 
real estate in Springfield, he actually traded the land upon which 
the present state house is located for a cook stove and a lot on the 
public square for a side-saddle. 

Bringing his family and his store goods with him, Jabez Capps 
became the first resident of Mount Pulaski. A log structure obtained 
from the adjoining farm of Jeremiah Birks was located on the west 
side of the square and converted into a residence and store. A 
sand-hole on the square itself, which had been a wolfs den, was 
made to do service as a kitchen. 

Population filtered into the new town slowly at first but settle- 
ment around and about it rapidly increased. Settlements following 
the year 1 836 were so numerous as to render enumeration herein 
too voluminous. 

Capps' store, otherwise known as "Capps* Headquarters," be- 
came a popular mart for settlers in all directions and in 1838 Mr. 
Capps replaced the original cabin with a two-stories frame struc- 
ture, store below and residence above, which structure remained 
until razed in 1867. 

Jabez Capps retired from the mercantile store business in 1858 
and, with his son, Charles, established an orchard nursery. At his 
death in I 896, he lacked three months of being a century old and 
had known the town he established full sixty years. 

FIRST ARRIVALS 

Jabez Capps, George W. Turley and Barton Robinson were the 



definite originators of Mount Pulaski. Turley and Robinson followed 
Capps in establishing residences in the new town. The latter moved 
to Kansas in 1858 and the former died in Mount Pulaski in 1865. 

In a legal deposition in the county files, Horace B. Rowe de- 
signates himself as "the fourth man in Mount Pulaski." He establish- 
ed a carpenter business. The Danners, Christian and Andrew, mov- 
ed in and established a blacksmith shop. Frank Schick opened up a 
shoe making shop about the same time. 

Others took up residence in the town in and about 1837- The 
second store buiiding in the town was erected by Benjamin Davis. 
Jefferson Scroggin built a residence where he accomodated tran- 
sients. The incoming population warranted Shields and Capps in lay- 
ing out an addition to the town on the south, which they did in 1837. 

LOGAN COUNTY 

By 1839, the territory now comprised in Logan county, then 
part of Sangamon county, had attained a population of about two 
thousand. For a number ot years previous, a movement had been 
organized looking to the division of extensive Sangamon county. 

Abraham Lincoln was chairman of the committee on counties in 
the Illinois Legislature that year -and from his committee carre a 
bill creating three new counties from territory carved from old Sang- 
amon. The bill became a law February twenty-eighth, 1839. 

One of the new counties thus created was Logan county. It 
was named for Dr. John Logan, of Murphysboro, a co-member of 
the Legislature with Mr. Lincoln, who had assisted Mr. Lincoln in 
getting the state capital moved from Vandalia to Springfield- Dr. 
Logan was the father of Gen. John A. Logan, the latter being 
twelve years of age when the county was named. 

On June third, 1839, the three commissioners named in the 
bill to select a county seat for the new county, met and selected 
Postville, a town of about one hundred population, which had been 
laid out in 1836. One of the commissioners, Charles E. Emmerson, 
of Decatur, who favored Mount Pulaski, dissented of record. 

The new county was divided into two political precincts, named 
respectively, the Postville and Mount Pulaski precincts. The first 
election judges chosen for Mount Pulaski precinct were George W. 
Turley, William Copeland and John Turner. 

At the first county election in 1839, most of the county offices 
went to residents of Mount Pulaski precinct and included Michael 
Mann for Probate Justice, Jabez Capps for Recorder, Thomas R. 
Skinner for Surveyor, William Hackney for School Commissioner, 
George B- Lucas for Coroner and John Shoup and Robert Down- 



ing as two. of the three County Commissioners. 

POSTOFFICE 

The Mount Pulaski postoffice was established March second, 
1839, at "Capps Headquarters", with Jabez Capps as Postmaster. 
He continued in that office until January seventh, 1854, when he 
was succeeded by J. L. Ream. Capps was both County Recorder 
and Postmaster from 1839 to 1843. 

Succeeding Postmasters of Mount Pulaski up to the time of the 
Civil war included Ezekial Bowman, John Clark, N. M. Whitaker 
and S. Linn Beidler, the latter a son-in-law of Jabez Capps. 

The early mail was carried in stage coaches, which also car- 
ried passengers over rather rough roads. A stage line ran from 
Springfield, by way of Middletown and Postville, to Mount Pulaski 
and thence to Clinton- John L. Clough was the mail carrier on this 
route. 

EARLY SCHOOLS 

The first schools in pioneer days were subscription schools, 
held at residences. The first school house built in the county was er- 
ected on the land of John Turner in the Lake fork section. A fam- 
ous pioneer school house, built in the Downing neighborhood on 
Salt creek about 1836, was colloquially called "Brush College." 

"Brush College" as described by Charles Capps, who attend- 
ed it, was a log structure, clapboard roof held down by weight 
poles, wooden hinges and lock, greased paper windows, split-log 
desks and seats and a huge mud-chinked chimney, with a fireplace 
capable of holding a quarter cord of wood. 

William Hackney taught this school and his pupils came from 
the Capps, Downing, Patterson, Parks, Fletcher, Morrow, Allen, 
Jackson, Harry and Laughery families, as same were remembered 
by Mr. Capps. 

Another early school conducted on the Turley lands in 1841, 
with Alexander Rigdon.James Wad-e and Thomas J. Scroggin as 
school directors, was taught by Silas Alexander and, as shown by 
a schedule, included pupils from the Sims, Mason, Turley, Cartmell, 
Cass, Key, Matthews, Scroggin, Foster, Wade and Rigdon families. 

A later school in the Lake fork section in I 845 was located on 
the lands of John Huston, with J. M- Mcintosh and Clark Provin as 
teachers in succession, and included pupils from the Huston, Mann, 
Turner, Robinson, Vanderman, Friend, Dyer, Provin, Martin, Sims 
and Lucas families. 

FIRST MOUNT PULASKI SCHOOL 

The first school house in Mount Pulaski, also log-built, was er- 



ected in 1 844, in the eastern portion of the town. The teacher for 
that year was Michael Finfrock and the school directors were N. M. 
Whitaker, George Snyder and William Friedrich. The pupils re- 
gistered that year were: 

Richard, Mary and Elizabeth Turley, James and John Sims, Sar- 
ah, Amelia, Margaret, David and Abraham Bunn, Samuel, Morgan, 
Oster, Brunson, Emily and Harriet Dement, Ebeneezer and Oliver 
Capps, Charles, George, Benjamin and Alexander Snyder, Mary, 
Harriet and Caroline Whitaker, Samuel and Nancy Morgan, John 
Christopher and Robert Laughlin, John Tomlinson, Charles Friedrich, 
Mary Wright, Henrietta Krieg, Martha Allen, Sarah Scroggins and 
William Baker. 

The same school in 1845 was taught by David P. Bunn, with ad- 
ditions to the scholars above named of Findlay -and Dewitt Whitak- 
er, Alexander Dement, Robert Tomlinson, Herbert, James and Cath- 
erine Robinson, Hardin Morgan, Sarah and Mary Bunn, Mahala and 
Mary Friedrich, William Krieg, Lewis, Emily and Mono Mitchell, 
Mary Snyder, John and Charles Capps, Sarah Carlock, Margaret 
Clark and Mary Crockett. 

. . IN THE FORTIES 

Settlements around Mount Pulaski became more numerous dur- 
ing the early forties, stimulating the growth of the town. Thomas P. 
Lushbaugh erected the third brick store building in 1846. Barton 
Robinson followed with another brick store structure. 

Tanneries were important functions in pioneer days, Carter Scrog- 
gin having early conducted one on his farm. In the forties Frank 
Schick established one in the town. He also opened a general store. 
A Methodist church society, first in the town, was organized in 1841 
at the home of Dr. John Clark. 

The first regular hotel, known as the Mount Pulaski hotel, a 
brick structure, was built in 1843 by Alexander Morgan, who con- 
ducted it until 1848, when D. B. Wright took over its management. 
Later, it was conducted by Ninian R. Cass and, still later, by N. M 
Whitaker, who purchased it of Mr. Morgan. 

. COUNTY SEAT TO MOUNT PULASKI 

By the year 1847, Mount Pulaski had a population over three 
hundred, exceeding that of Postville (then officially known as Cam- 
den), the county seat. A movement was inaugurated to bring the 
county seat from Camden to Mount Pulaski. 

Pursuant to this movement, Michael Swing, State Representa- 
tive, on February twenty-third, 1847, secured the passage of a legis- 
lative law submitting to the voters of Logan county, at an election 



to be held on the first Monday of April, 1848, the proposition of 
the removal of the county seat to Mount Pulaski. 

At the April election, a substantial majority voted for the 
change. The submission act had provided that in the event of relo- 
cation the citizens of Mount Pulaski, as a condition thereto, were to 
erect on the public square of the town" a good and sufficient court 
house." 

Upon the favorable vote, the citizens of Mount Pulaski and vi- 
cinity raised the sum of $2700, which was supplemented by a coun- 
ty appropriation of $300. The court house, still standing intact to- 
day, was then erected and equipped. 

The court house was ready for occupancy in the spring of 
1848, when the county records were loaded into wagons at Post- 
ville and moved to the new quarters. County officials, lawyers and 
politicians followed to a new home. 

Subsequently a two-stories brick jail was built at a cost of 
$1000, which contained what was then a legal provision, namely, a 
debtor's cell. Debtor's cells are no longer in vogue in any state. 

THE MOUNT PULASKI COURT 

At the time of the change of the county seat, Logan county 
was a part of the old Eighth Judicial district, made famous by the 
circuit itinerary of Abraham Lincoln, the lawyer. Judge David Dav- 
is, of Bloomington, was the sole judge of, and David B. Campbell 
the Prosecuting Attorney for the district. 

There were two terms of the circuit court each year, beginning 
the last Thursdays of May and October respectively. The early 
court terms lasted but a few days, rarely more than three. Abraham 
Lincoln was present practically at every term of the Mount Pulaski 
court. 

Other lawyers from Springfield and other adjacent points al- 
so attended the Mount Pulaski court. They usually stopped at the 
Mount Pulaski hotel, which was a busy place in court terms. Mr. Lin- 
coln, however, was more frequently a guest at the home of Jabez 
Capps. 

The two leading resident licensed lawyers at the Mount Pul- 
aski court were Lionel P. Lacey and Samuel C. Parks. Parks came to 
Mount Pulaski from Springfield and was a tentative local law asso- 
ciate of Abraham Lincoln. Parks rounded up the cases and Lincoln 
tried them at law terms. 

Parks was elected to the Legislature when a resident of Mount 
Pulaski. Moving to Lincoln in 1856, he was a delegate to the Chi- 



cago convention in I860, at which Lincoln was nominated for Presi- 
dent. President Lincoln appointed him federal judge in Idaho. He 
was a member of the state constitutional convention of I 870. 

Lacey came to Mount Pulaski from southern Illinois in the early 
forties and was the towns first licensed lawyer. He introduced 
Douglas to an audience in Lincoln during the Lincoln-Douglas con- 
test for United States Senator. He died in 1866. 

William H. Young v/as also a member of the Mount Pulaski 
bar. as was also A. J. Turley. Among others who appeared in jus- 
tice courts were Ezekiel Bowman, Horace Ballou and N. M. Whit- 
ake\ Bowman was twice elected Sheriff of the county, once County 
Treasurer and was an early School Commissioner. 

Judge David Davis, who always presided over the Mount Pu- 
laski circuit court, was appointed by President Lincoln to the Su- 
preme Court of the United States and was later U. S. Senator and 
acting Vice President of the United States. Judge Thomas R. Skin- 
ner was continuously County Judge ar Mount Pulaski. 

INCIDENTS 

Under the law in force in Mount Pulaski county seat days, ail 
"free white males" between the ages of eighteen and forty-five 
were required to equip themselves with a "good musket, fuzee or 
rifle" and enroll in the state militia. 

Annual militia musters took place in April of each year and 
these were gala occasions. Capt. John Shoup was the commander 
of ihe company at Mount Pulaski. 

Voters at elections were required to "first announce their own 
names " to the election officers "and then the names of the persons 
for whom they wish tc vote." 

bxpense records show that the court house at Mount Pulaski 
was lighted at night, when light was required, by tallow candles. 

Ihe "horologica! cradle" case so famous in Lincoln biography 
was tried at Mount Pulaski before Judge Davis, Abraham Lincoln 
being attorney for the plaintiff. 

IN THE FIFTIES 

About the beginning of the fifties, George Meister established 
a brick and tile works in the town and George and John Mayer 
opened a general store. In 1851, Samuel C. Beam, established a 
saw mill, which later developed into a flouring mill. Many new stores 
and residences were built. 

The first church building in the town was erected by the Metho- 
dist society in 1851, the trustees being John Clark, John Harry, 



Norman Norton, James Snyder and John M. Downing. All Methodist 
societies then in the county, some fifteen in number, were included 
in the Mount Pulaski circuit. 

In 1852, the society of the First Lutheran Zion church erected 
a house of worship, it being the first Lutheran church building in 
the county. Fred Dittus and William and Christian Rupp, among 
others, were instrumental in the organization of the society. 

. COUNTY SEAT REMOVAL 

In 1852, the Alton & Sangamon railroad (now the Chicago & 
Alton) extended its line from Springfield, through Logan county, to 
Bloonnington. A town site was laid out in 1853 on the extension 
right of way, one mile from old Postville. Its proprietors named 
it Lincoln, in honor of their attorney, Abraham Lincoln. 

In February of 1853, the said proprietors secured the passage 
of a legislative bill submitting to the voters of Logan county the 
proposition of again changing the county seat, this time from Mount 
Pulaski to the new railroad townsite. 

At the ensuing election in November of 1853, a majority voted 
for the change, whereupon George W. Turley and others secured 
trom Circuit Judge Davis an injunction restraining the erection of 
county buildings in Lincoln, based on alleged irregularities in the 
passage of the submission bill. 

Later, Judge Davis dissolved this injunction on the ground that 
the irregularities had been removed by later legislative action. The 
case then went to the State Suoreme Court, which, at its Decem- 
ber 1855 session, sustained the dissolution of the injunction. 

. ACTUAL TRANSFER IN 1855 

While the election transferring the county seat occurred in 
November of 1853, actual transfer did not take place until the 
rendering of the Supreme Court decision, which was handed down 
subsequent to the second Monday in December of 1855. 

The county records were destroyed by a court house fire in 
Lincoln, April 15, 1857, but a transcript of the probate of the will 
of Stephen Jones, filed after the fire, shows that probate took 
place in the County Court in Mount Pulaski, November 17th, 1855. 

Another will transcript, filed after the fire, shows probate at 
Lincoln, February fourth, 1856. The actual transfer therefore took 
place between the said dates and after the December 1855 deci- 
sion, or probably in the latter part of December, 1855. 

AFTER TRANSFER 

The removal of the county seat, while disconcerting, did not 



affect the progress of Mount Pulaski as much as anticipated. The 
population lost by the change of residence of county officials and 
lawyers was more than offset by the incoming of others. 

The government census reports show that the population of 
Mount Pulaski in 1850, when it was a county seat, was 350 but that 
in I860, after county seat removal, the population of the town had 
nearly doubled and was 634. 

The Evangelical Association society, organized in 1855, built 
a house of worship in 1861, services before that year having been 
held in the Universalist church which had been erected in the later 
fifties. 

St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic parish, organized in 1857, pur- 
chased the Evangelical church building in 1 867 and held service 
therein until 1884, when the Catholic parish built a more modern 
church. 

. EARLY BUSINESS DIRECTORY 

The first wall map of Logan county, printed in the early sixties, 
gives the following business directory of Mount Pulaski: 

General merchants, George Mayer & Co., John H. Capps, 
Philip Schweikert, Frank Schick, Samuel Turley; druggist, S. Linn 
Beidler; tailors, Jacob Danner, John Krieg; undertakers, G. A. 
Robinson, Clark & Gideon; shoemakers, Jacob Ebinger, Gotlieb 
Seyter; nursery, J. Capps & Son; steam mill, S. C. Beam; cabinet 
makers, John Zimmerman, C. C. Mason; brick manufacturer, Geor- 
ge Meister; blacksmiths, W. A. Schafer, John M. Litterly; brewery, 
Adam Bierlein; wagonmaker, M. Feuerbacher. 

To the above list were added professional names as follows: 
physicians, John Clark, J. M. Pumpelly, E. T. Savage, G. Fain; at- 
torney, N. M. Whitaker. Henry Shriver was the hotel keeper. 

THE CIVIL WAR 

In the Civil war of the sixties, Logan county furnished 2,160 
soldiers. All were volunteers. There was no draft in Logan county. 
Every quota called for was promptly filled. 

Mount Puaski and vicinity did full part in the Civil war. With 
the close association of the community with Abraham Lincoln fresh 
in mind, his presidential calls for troops to save the Union met a 
ready response. 

Mendret Wemple early organized a cavalry company which 
saw service at Shiloh and on other famous battlefields of the war. 
Wemple was later made major of the Second Battalion. 

Company D of the 1 06th infantry regiment was composed al- 



most entirely ot men from Mount Pulaski and vicinity. It was offic- 
ered as follows: 

Captain (later promoted major) David Vanhise; lieutenants, 
John Everly, Monroe Shoup, Joseph Ream; sergeants, W. W. Mar- 
tin, A. J. Snyder, William Vandeventer, Thomas C. Shreve; corpor- 
als, J. G. Chalfant, Robert Laughlin, Joseph Galoway, Reuben Bow- 
ers, Alfred Tomlinson, Abner Jackson, James Bowers, Samuel Hunt- 
er, John Dement, J. G. Bates. 

George Dement of company D was promoted sergeant major 
and D. L. Bnaucher quarter master-sergeant. William Frakes was cap 
tain of company B, 32nd infantry and William Hackney, captain of 
company H, seventh infantry. 

Citizens of Mount Pulaski and vicinity in considerable numbers 
were affiliated with other regiments and many gave up their lives 
in service. Among the first war fatalities was that of John H. Duff, 
killed at Shiloh. 

. TOWNSHIP ORGANIZATION 

Following the Civil war, the movement, first inaugurated in 
1858, reached final achievement in 1865. By it, county government 
by three commissioners gave way to government by .a board of su- 
pervisors. 

Under township organization, Mount Pulaski township as now 
existent was created. The first election for township officers, held 
April second, i 867, resulted as follows: 

Supervisor, Alexander Fisher; Town clerk, Charles S. Capps; 
assessor, George W. Howe; collector, Henry Vonderleith; justices 
ot the peace, John Weckel, J. N. Pumpelly. 

RAILROADS 

Prior to 1871, Mount Pulaski was an inland town, being without 
railroads. In 1867, the Peoria, Lincoln & Decatur railroad was in- 
corporated, with proposed right of way through Mount Pulaski. 
The incorporation contemplated a county bond issue of $300,000. 

The bond issue was twice defeated at special elections but 
was finally approved in 1869. Litigation, however, resulted which 
cost the county $20,000 but a compromise was effected on the 
basis of a bond issue of $160,000. 

The building of the road began in November 1869 and was 
completed to Decatur in October of 1871. The name of the road 
was changed in 1879 to the Peoria, Decatur and Evansville and the 
road was later absorbed by the Illinois Central. 

In 1867, the Gilman, Clinton & Springfield road was incorpor- 



ated with right of way through Mount Pulaski. Building began in 
1870 and was completed in December of 1871. It is now the Spring- 
field division of the Illinois Central. 

. IN THE SEVENTIES 

The coming of the railroads brought greater prosperity to 
Mount Pulaski. The value of building improvement the next two 
years amounted to over forty thousand dollars. The first bank in 
the town, the Scroggin bank, opened its doors in 1872. 

The Christian church society, organized in 1 868, erected a 
church building in 1870 and the St. John's Evangelical Lutheran 
church society, also organized in 1868, followed with a church 
building in 1873. 

In 1875, the Schick brick building was erected and in 1876 a 
music hall. In 1878, the building and equipment of the Scroggin 
hotel, opera house and bank building made a distinct improvement 
to the town. 

Three additions were laid out to the town, Mason's in 1871 
and Beam's and Turley's in 1 872. The population of Mount Pulaski 
reached 1,125 in 1880. 

NEWSPAPERS 

The first newspaper published in Mount Pulaski was the Sentin- 
el, established by Francis M. Dalton in 1870. Having later changed 
its name to the Star, it ceased twinkling in 1876. 

Various other papers, by different publishers, appeared sub- 
sequently for short periods of time until the Republican was estab- 
lished by T. H. Smedly in 1884 and taken over in 1886 by S. Linn 
Beidler. Otto Bekemeyer established the Times in 1882. 

Following the death of Mr. Beidler, his sons, Rell C. and Paul 
E. changed the name of the Republican to that of the News, which 
combined with the Times, is now published as the Times-News by 
Harry J. Wible. 

OLD SETTLERS ASSOCIATION 

An important event in 1873 was the organization of the old 
settlers' association, with David W. Clark as president and S. Linn 
Beidler as secretary. The first reunion occurred in the public square 
in Mount Pulaski on October first of that year. 

These reunions continued annually until 1910, most of the 
meetings being held at Mount Pulaski. They attracted great crowds 
from all over central Illinois. A barbecue reunion in 1882, at which 
seven beeves, twelve hogs and thirteen sheep, steamcooked, furnish- 



ed provender, was said to have been attended by 15,000 people. 

THE GRADE SCHOOL 

By an act of the Legislature, passed in 1857, the Mount Pulaski 
court house building was "donated" to the town "for school pur- 
poses," Henry Vonderlieth, George W. Turley and Jabez Capps be- 
ing named as trustees for two years. 

The fact further provided that, at the expiration of the two years, 
control of the building was to pass to the directors of the Mount 
Pulaski school district. The courthouse thus became the school build 
ing of the town. 

Referring to the school conducted in the court house, County 
Superintendent Chalfant, in his official report of 1869, reported 
the school as being "conducted with efficiency and success by Mrs. 
Nellie Shoup in the higher department and Mrs. Hattie Mills in the 
primary department." 

In 1877, a change was made from the former school system 
to a grade system under a town board of education. A bond is- 
sue provided $20,000 for the erection and equipment of a new 
school building, which was built and ready for occupancy in Jan- 
uary of 1878. 

The court house being no longer used for school purposes was 
turned over to the town auhtorities for community uses. For a num- 
ber of years it has housed the government post-office. 

. VILLAGE ORGANIZATION 

Mount Pulaski was originally organized as a town at an early 
date under the general law then existing. The records being non- 
existent and the boundaries being in doubt, reorganization as a 
village was effected in 1876. 

At a special election held that year, village organization was 
approved. The first village board consisted of Uriah Snyder, Char- 
les S. Capps, William A Schafer, Alexander Fisher, John Krieg and 
John W. Seyfer. 

. IN THE EIGHTIES 

The first telephone exchange in Mount Pulaski was installed in 
1881. In the same year, C. E. Snyder established a fence and barrel 
factory. The Meister building was erected in 1882 and the Jenner 
building in 1884. 

The Methodist church society erected a new church edifice in 
1884 and the Catholic parish of St. Thomas Aquinas' built a house 
of worship in 1886. In 1887, the First National bank was established. 



The Mount Pulaski mill and elevator was built in 1881. There 
were three grain elevators in the village in 1882. Several additions 
to the village were laid out in the early eighties. 

In 1882 a coal mining company was organized and a shaft sunk 
the following year. After passing into various hands at different 
times, the shaft was abandoned about 1910. 

FIRE DEPARTMENT 

The burning of the McFarlin & Woods elevator in 1880, re- 
built in 1882, and the destruction by fire of the Mount Pulaski mill 
in 1885, at a loss of some $40,000, suggested the organization of a 
volunteer fire department. 

Thereupon, on March 13, 1885, the Phoenix fire department 
was organized with eighteen charter members, with W. H. Stafford 
as fire chief. The department celebrated its semi-centennial of con- 
tinuous existence in 1935. 

The Phoenix fire department won numerous state champion- 
ship tokens and race prizes in its early history. It has been affiliated 
with the state volunteer firemen's organization since 1889, of which 
M. J. Myers, formerly president, is now vice president. 

CITY ORGANIZATION 

By a vote of its citizens, January third, 1893, village organiza- 
tion in Mount Pulaski was superseded in that year by city govern- 
ment under the general law. The city was divided into three wards. 
The first city officials were: 

Mayor, A. G. Jones; Clerk, Frank Fiegenshuh; treasurer, Geor- 
ge W. Vonderlieth; aldermen, Jacob Jenner, George W. Connelly, 
M. T. Vaughn, Jonathan Combs, P. H. Oyler, J. M. Whitney. 

FURTHER IMPROVEMENTS 

Following city organization and the creation of the fire depart- 
ment, a water works system, equipped with wells, hydrants and a 
reservois of sixty thousand gallons capacity, was established in 
1 895 at a cost of $30,000. 

In 1899, a city hall, with fire engine room, was built east of the 
public square. A city library was established in 1896. Priorly, in 
1890, an electric lighting plant had been established. The Mount 
Pulaski windmill company was organized in 1902 and a building and 
loan association in 1904. 

In 1902, the Catholic parish built a new church edifice, an 
Episcopal church was erected in 1904 and in 1907, the Methodist 
church society erected their third house of worship on the old site. 



MODERN SCHOOLS 

A disastrous fire occurred in September of 191 I, when the 
combined grade and high school building was destroyed. A bond 
issue was voted for rebuilding and a new school structure erected 
at an original cost of $30,000. 

In the reorganization, the grade school was divorced from the 
high school, in contemplation of a proposed township high school. 
A township high school, the first in the county, was built in 1913 
and dedicated January 30th, 1934. 

In 1929, improvements and additions were made to the town- 
ship high school, including modern gymnasium, at a further cost of 
$50,000. 

Mount Pulaski enjoys the distinction of having public school 
facilities equal, and in many respects superior, to those of any city 
of its size in the state. They have excelled along both educational 
and athletic lines. 

WORLD WAR 

One of the most outstanding events of late history was the 
World War, still fresh in the public mind. In that struggle, nearly 
two thousand Logan county men were registered and accepted in- 
to the military service of the country. 

In this world-wide contest, Mount Pulaski, as in all former wars 
since its establishment a century ago, furnished its full quota of 
soldiers and these gave loyal support to the country, its institutions 
and the flag. 

A thriving post of the American Legion, named in honor of 
Dr. H. D. Ryman and Zachary Fuiten, who gave up their lives in ac- 
tion, perpetuate the tradition of the Nation. Post-humous decora- 
tion for bravery was accorded the memory of Dr. Ryman. 

MODERN EVENTS 

In the past decade, improvements in business, public and resi- 
dential properties, as well as in civic movements, have kept apace 
of the advancing times. Few localities in the country weathered the 
"depression" more successfully than did Mount Pulaski. No bartk or 
business failures marked the economic struggle. 

A concrete state highway, constructed in 1934, connects Mount 
Pulaski with Decatur and all points east and likewise Lincoln, Ha- 
vana, Peoria and points west. A similar highway to Springfield is in 
prospect. An improved road to Elkhart is now a reality. 



COURT HOUSE AGAIN 

No event is of greater importance to Mount Pulaski and the 
country in general than the recent taking over by the state of Illi- 
nois, with local reservations, of the old court house and grounds as 
a historic shrine. 

Restored to former appointments, reminiscent as the building 
is of pioneer and Abraham Lincoln days, the ancient structure and 
park in which located, will prove a Mecca of patriotic pilgrimage 
for years to come. 

CONCLUSION 

The above events, more or less briefly noted, constitute a cen- 
tury of Mount Pulaski. What does the next century hold in store? 
No mortal can answer. 



. . courthouse restored to original appearance 

'■ - • •• ; . •'""- vh 




Courthouse As It 
Looked When Used 
For Postoffice Building. 




1936 Census"Mount Pulaski 



A 

Abel, Mrs, Charles (Robert, Margaret, Minnie, Carl, Georgia) North 

Park. 
Aitchison, Robert D.— Lulu (Robert S.) Merchant; 108 North Vine 
Allen, Robert — Maude (Willard, Ruby, Delbert, Leo, Glendora) labor- 
er; West Wayne. 
Allen, Ross — Sophia; laborer; 208 North Washington 
Allison, Otto— Hazel; tavern; 310 North Washington 
Allspach, Albert — Helen; retired farmer; 209 North Vine 
Anderson, Delia M.; stenographer; 405 West Morgan. 
Anderson, Dewey — Madge (Loren) merchant; 407 West Cooke 
Anderson, Mrs. Harriet; 200 North Marion 
Anderson, Kelsey M. — Helen (Harold) 402 East Jefferson 
Anstine, Frank and James — Eva and Melissa, sisters; retired; 410 

North Washington. 
Arnold, Lloyd, stenographer, North Park 

Arnold, William J. — Lillie (Mary, Virgil); painter; North Park 
Ayers, Raymond — Verna (Edward, Frances, Loren) auto mechanic; 

404 South Marion 
Ayies worth, Mrs. Ida; housekeeper; 503 North Marion 
Aylesworth, Roy — Geneva (Louise, Dorothy, Betty, Buddy, Richard) 
truck driver: 415 West Cooke street. 

B 

Bailey, Dwight — Amelia (William); Clerk; 220 East Monroe 

Bailey, James — Fern; contractor; 519 North Washington 

Baker, Mrs. Carrie (Charlotte, Inas, Charles); North Garden 

Barlow, Mrs. James; 314 North Marlon 

Barton, John — Lila (Elton, Woodrow); elevator manager; 309 East 

Jefferson. 
Baumann, Carl — Josephine; retired; farmer, 101 North Vine street. 
Banmann, Mrs. Elizabeth (Amelia) 306 South Lafayette Street 
Beckers, William — Nettie; retired farmer; 306 North Garden street 
Beldler, Everett — Esther (Delores Ann, Donna Marie); radio repair; 

107 South Marion street. 
Beldler, Mrs. Josephine (Barbara Ann) 207 North Lafayette 
Beidler, Paul E. — Ethel; printer; 120 North Lafayette street 
Beldler, Roll C— Etta; retired, printer; 101 South Marion street 
Bellatti, Robert M. — Martha; retired farmer; 203 North Scott 
Bender, Mrs. Katherine (George); 319 North Belmont 
Bertoni, Renaldo — Pauline (Sam, Marie, Renaldo, Waldo) merchant; 

119 North Marion. 
Bertrang, Walter — Nelia (Helen, Irma, Lillian, Iva, Dean, Byron); 

laborer; 102 East German. 
Biesemeier, John — Helen (Joan); 110 South Garden 
Binder, William F. — Amelia; wagon maker; 400 South Lafayette 
Birks, W. E.— retired farmer; 420 North Lafayette street 
Blackford, Dan — Pearl; truck driver; 620 South Spring 
Blackford, Henry — Lorena; bookkeeper; 620 South Spring 
Blanford, Mrs. Amanda Jane; West McDonald 



Stanford, Edward — Bertha (Gayford Wills, stepson); I. C. section 
foreman; 302 South Lafayette. 

Blickenstaff, James — Kitty; 610 South Spring 

Bloye, Mrs. Kate, 303 North Vine street. 

Bobell, Ferd (Wayne) 510 South Vine 

Srannan, William; laborer; 200 North Marion 

Bredenstiner, Ellis; laborer; 412 North Marion 

Bressmer, Fred A. — Gertrude (Glen Tutwiler, grandson) truck driver, 
500 East Cooke. 

Brooker, Charles — Emma (Everett K., and Carlton Drake Jr., grand- 
son) retired farmer; 202 North Vine. 

Brooker, Mrs. Fredericka; 302 North Lafayette 

Brown, S. L. — Harriet (Arline, Wendell, James); gas station; 416 
South Lafayette. 

Buckles, Charles F. (Ora) North Garden 

Buckles, Claude — Constance; garage; 100 North Park 

Buckles, Frank (Rose); retired; 200 North Marion 

Buckles, Harry — Ida; West Side Square 

Buckles, Mrs. Jennie, 420 North Lafayette 

Buckles, John A., 401 North Belmont 

Buckles, P. W., painter; 100 North Park 

Buckles, Robert — Sadie; 625 North Vine 

Billiard, Mrs. Kate; 215 South Vine 



Capps, Harry B., nursery; 617 North Washington 

Capps, William B.; nurseryman; 120 North Lafayette 

Carter, Constance; 305 East Jefferson 

Carty, William — Christie (Edna May, Sylvia, Joseph, Susie, Jack, 

Lawrence, Hattie); laborer; Obermiller Heights. 
Cass, Lincoln — Frances; stockman; 104 North Vine 
Casto, Mrs. Dora; 506 North Washington 
Cheek, David — Carrie; retired; 301 South Garden 
Christmann, John A.; retired; 503 West Jefferson 
Chris tmann, Louis, barber; 412 South Washington 
Clare, Mrs. Thelma (William, Lois, Margaret); North Spring 
Clark, Miss Meta; 317 N. Washington 
Clear, Gene C. — Louise; merchant; 407 North Lafayette 
Clements, Roy — Lucille (Larry, Carol Elaine) farmer; 208 South 

Garden. 
Clifton, Misses Grace and Sue; dressmakers; 219 North Washington 
Clobes, William C. — Eva; blacksmith; 215 South Vine 
Combs, August S. — Anna; retired; 316 East Chestnut 
Conaway, Mrs. Martha (Ralph, Orville, sons; Russell Green, Eugene 

Conaway, grandsons; 305 North Spring. 
Conaway, Tom — Catherine; gas station; 400 South Vine. 
Connelly, Dr. George S.— Ada (John H., George S.); physician; 107 

North Lafayette. 
Connolley, Eugene K. — Pearl (Franklin, Richard, Kenneth) druggist; 

319 North Vine. 
Connolley, Laura; telephone operator; 216 North Lafayette 
Connolley, Virgil G. — Margaret; druggist; 317 West Cooke 
Cook, Mrs. Fern (Mary, Alice) 209 East Jefferson 
Copeland, Frank — Laura; retired; 405 East Cooke 



Copeland, Mrs. Jennie E.; 421 North Lafayette 

Cowan, Wallace— Helen (Darwin L., Donald W.) truck driver; 402 

North Spring. 
Crane, Mrs. M. A. (Flossie) 318 North Vine 
Crowe, Mrs. Alvada; 211 North Marion 
Crowe, Mrs. Clarabelle; 206 North Lafayette 
Crull, Charles W. — Emma; 306 North Belmont street 
Cryan Mrs. Anna; 403 South Spring 
Curtis, Fern; beauty shop; 907 South Spring 
Curtis, Mrs. Grace (Barbara, Mary June Barnes); merchant; 111 

South Marion. 
Curtis, John — Naomi (Dorothy) grade school janitor; 319 East Cooke 
Curtis, Russell S. — Mary; North Garden 
Curtis, Shelby — Dollie; gas station; 800 South Spring. 



Danner, Chris; retired farmer; 609 South Spring 

Banner, Jacob — Anna; South Lafayette 

Danner, John R. 'Boley' retired; 211% South Washington 

Danner, Mrs. Margaret; Obermiller Heights. 

Davis, Bert; truck driver; 506 North Washington 

Davis, Lon — Bernice; teacher; 305 South Washington 

Davis, Paul — Dorothy (Joseph, Robert); laborer; 516 North Garden 

Dawson, Mrs. Eliza; 402 East Jefferson. 

Deavers, Miss Sadie; 409 West Jefferson 

Deibert, George (Alberta, Loretta, Mabel) Elkhart road 

Deibert, Harry G.; clerk; 103 Jefferson 

Deibert, Mrs. Joseph; 116 North Spring 

Deibert, Morrell — Delia; electrician; 406 East Jefferson 

Dickey, Jacob A. — Frona (Oscar); laborer; North Scott 

Dillsaver, Albert F. — Agnes (John); barber; 206 South Vine 

Dittus, George F. — Sophia; retired farmer; 221 North Lafayette 

Doty, William — Katherine ( laborer. 

Downing, Clarence W. — Lena (Darwin) auto mechanic; 507 South 

Lafayette. 
Downing, Ennis A. — Retta (Julian) ; banker; 519 North Vine 
Downing, Harry — May; plumbing; 201 North Belmont 
Downing, John T. — Anna (Dorothy Ann); clerk; 515 North Lafayette 
Drobisch, Albert — Anna; clerk; 207 South Marion 
Drobisch, Christian F. — Louise; sexton; 110 North Marion 
Drobisch, Gustav — Emma (Viola) ; coal dealer; 300 South Vine 
Drobisch, Louis H.; barber; 400 South Vine 
Drobisch, Walter M. — Letha (Miller, Alvira) waterworks supt; 600 

North Washington. 
Duboce, Herman and Rodman; painters; 203 North Marion 
Duboce, Mrs. Lila; 

Duff, J. T.— Kittie; retired; 313 North Scott 
Dunkel, Carl; auto mechanic; 305 S. Washington 
Durchholz, Fred — Barbara; retired farmer; 503 North Belmont 



Earles, Samuel — Gertrude; section foreman; 317 East Morgan 
Edwards, Carl — Louise (Allen) telegrapher, 305 South Lafayette 



Edwards, Ernest — Minnie (Earl, Mary, Ruth, Richard); carpenter; 

Obermiller Heights. 
Ellenburg, James S., laborer; 420 South Garden 
Ellenberg, John ; laborer; 420 South Garden 

Ellis, Dan W. — Anna (Lucy Jane); carpenter; 201 North Washington 
Ely, Ben W.; banker; 301 South Garden 

Emery, Louis — Jessie (Wilna, Reva) farmer; 302 South Spring 
Eminger, Mrs. Anna E.; secretary; 204 North Spring 
England, Mrs. Tillie (John) ; 220 West Jefferson 
English, Mrs. Lulu (Wyle); housework; 309 North Spring 
Epting, Andrew — Kate (Fred) retired; 721 South Spring 
Ey, Charles A. — Louise (Carl, Louise); baker; South Lafayette 
Ey, Otto — Pauline; teacher; 119 West Harry 
Ey, Vincent-— Virginia (Richard); clerk; 407 North Lafayette 



Fant, Charles (Gwendolyn) tailoring; East McDonald 

Fant, Mrs. Katherine (Fred) East McDonald 

Felts, Mrs. Anna; 421 West Morgan 

Felts, Edwin — Emma; retired merchant; 302 North Belmont 

Feuerbacher, Mrs. Emily; 403 East Cooke 

Field, Mrs. Ida (Cordie Starr, nephew); 305 North Marion 

Foster, Dean — Marjorie (Virginia) mail carrier; 409 East Cooke 

Frazier, C. L. — Goldie (Clarence, Gene, Lyle) telegrapher; 312 West 

Jefferson. 
Froschauer, Edward — Hazel (Edward) ; farmer; 404 West Jefferson 
Fryer, Miss Cosetta; 291 North Lafayette 
Fryer, Mrs. Mary V.; 291 North Lafayette 
Fuhrer, Mrs. Caroline (Anna, Joseph); 114 Vine. 
Fuhrer, Dan J. — Helen (Dale, Paul); service station; 208 North Vine 
Fultz, William — Jennie; section worker; 225 South Spring 

G 

Gasaway, Mrs. Elizabeth; 404 West Jefferson 

Gasaway, Lee— Mattie (Walter, Hoy, Dale) laborer; 523 West Jeffer- 
son. 

Gieseke, Mrs. Christina; 209 North Spring 

Girtman, Miss Mamie; 118 West Harry 

Glick, Walter— Georgian; 206 North Vine 

Glose, Chauncey E. — Pearl (Cerese, Dorothy Wanda) mail carrier; 
306 North Vine. 

Goben, Ellis — Hester (Anna Marie; Jimmy Wheeler, grandson) pen- 
sioner; 320 South Lafayette. 

Goddard, Edward — Carrie (Harry, Bill, J. CL); teacher; 403 South 
Marion. 

Goodman, James — Catherine (Virginia Dorothy, Joe; laborer 307 
North Spring. 

Goodman, James Sr. — Olive (Carl, Chester, Sheldon, Hazel) laborer; 
401 South Lafayette. 

Goodpaster, Mrs. Emily; 305 South Washington 

Goodpaster, Ernest — Pearl (Wayne, Don, Edwin, Carol) janitor; 516 
West Jefferson. 

Gordon, Charles M. — Hattie; 210 North Mason 

Gordon, Harvey F. — Clara; retired; 402 North Washington 



Graham, Edward — Kate; (Patricia Kelly, grand niece) laborer; 515 
N. Marion. 

Griffin, Byri — June (Mary Jean, Jack, Joan) section worker; East 
McDonald. 

Gruber, Henry C. — Sadie (Frank) newsstand; 214 South Washington 

Gruber, Paul A. — Mino (Helen Shull, niece) ; painter; 520 East Cooke 

Gulso, Mrs. Henry (Rose; and Charles Gulso, grandson;) 307 South 
Washington. 

Gulso, Mrs. Minnie (Robert, Dale, Dorothy); 411 North Washing- 
ton. 

Gun tern, Frank — Christina; retired; 115 N. Spring 

H 

Hagenbuch, Mrs. Louis (Nora, Emma) ; 405 West Cook 
Hagenbuch, Walter — Ruby (Junior) ; truck driver; 307 North Lafay- 
ette. 
Hahn, Boyd — Clara (Herschel, Boyd, Helena, Doris, Lois, Leota, Har- 
ry) railroad fireman; 409 West Jefferson. 
Hahn, Fred H. — Doris (Billie, Jean); deputy circuit clerk; 210 North 

Washington. 
Hahn, Herman — Margaret (Lola) 215 West Cooke 
Hahn, Misses Lottie and Emma; 113 North Lafayette 
Hahn, Mrs. Lottie (Jerry, John) 205 North Park 
Hahn, Raymond — Mildred (Mary Lee); drug clerk; 603 North La- 
fayette. 
Hahn, William S. — Emma (Mildred); retired; 521 North Lafayette 
Hanslow, Charles — Bessie (Emma, Charles, Ray, Lillian, Forrest); 

janitor; 302 North Garden. 
Hanson, Mil ford — Dorothy (Joanna Lee) teacher; 411 North Lafay- 
ette. 
Haggis, Lloyd L. — Helen (Robert, Gerard, Barbara Ellen); high 

school principal; 420 West Cooke. 
H&rgrave, Harold — Alma; carpenter; 416 West Cooke 
Harper, Mrs. Almeda; 121 North Washington 

Harper, Richard T. — Clara (Loren); retired; 214 North Washington 
Harper, Ward — Helen (Rae); auto salesman; 600 South Washington 
Harrison, Perry H.— Dora, 903 South Spring street 
Harrison, Mrs. Sarah (Katie) ; 119 North Park 
Hassett, Misses Jennie and Mamie; 219 South Garden 
Hatfield, Guy — Gladys (Verna Mae, Richard, Leonard); mechanic; 

West Morgan. 
Heiserman, Mrs. Lena; 112 North Washington 

Heller, August F. — Cordelia; retired painter; 313 North Washington 
Henry, Miss Anna; 415 North Lafayette 
Hershey, John T.— Anna; funeral director; 112 North Vine 
Hildreth, Dr. C. E. —Margaret (Charles, Shirley) physician; 215 So. 

Marion. 
Holler, Mrs. Jane (sons, Claude Holler and William Brooker) 207 

North Washington. 
Holmes, Charles — Mary; retired; 317 South Marion 
Holmes, Edward — Irene (Roy Edward) mechanic; 107 North Vine 
Holmes, Fred— Hazel; garage; 203% South Washington 
Holmes, Lawrence — Lois (Alfred) carpenter; 202 North Park 
Holmes, William E. —Anna (Harry) ; garage owner; 206 North La- 
fayette. 



Holmes, Willis— Zellma (Willis, Richard, Donald) ; laborer; 201 South 

Lafayette. 
Horn, Frank— Lillie (Emmerson, Delbert, Dean); carpenter; East 

German. 
Horn, George; retired; 100 South Vine 
Horn, Henry— Louise (Nellie) retired; 915 South Spring 
Horn, Miss Lizzie; 209 South Vine street 
Horn, William; carpenter; 209 South Vine 
Hubbartt, James — Vera (Jerry, son; Lena, Beulah and Annabelle 

Dayhuffe, stepdaughters) laborer; 314 South Washington. 
Hughes, Chester G. — Lena; retired; 112 North Marion 
Hukill, Zolla — Opal; truck driver; 414 East Jasper 
Humble— Mrs. Helen (Walter, Harvey, Donald); 310 North Vine 
Hutchison, Frank— Ethel; dairyman; West German 
Hutter, Joseph F. — Lydia (Cornelius, Ralph, Howard, Pauline, Doris, 
Joseph, Margaret, Marilyn) trucker & buyer; 300 So. Lafay- 
ette. 

I 

Iselin, Charles — Mattie; laborer; 409 South Marion 

J 

Jackson, Clarence— Delia; laborer; 420 North Marion 

Jackson, Mrs. Ina (Ruth, Ruby, Richard, Lillie May) 300 North 

Spring. 
Jenner, Miss Katherine; 221 South Lafayette 
Jenner, William B. — Clara; clerk; 114 South Garden 
Jones, Robert N. — Delia; retired; 104 North Marion 

K 

Kautz, Chris J.; retired; 503 West Jefferson 

Kautz, Henry J. Jr. — Thema; express agent; 500 North Garden 

Kautz, Henry J. Sr. — Clara; retired; 310 South Garden 

Kautz, Miss Katie (James Kautz, nephew) ; 400 South Washington 

Kautz, Mike — Eva; grain dealer; 111 North Marion 

Kautz, Wallace — Opal (Wallace Jr.); 318 South Garden 

Kautz, Wilhelm G. — Elsie (Virginia) ; grain dealer; 109 North Spring 

Kautz, Willard — Norma; merchant; Bertoni apartments. 

Keil, Miss Kathryn; 304 East Wayne 

Keiser, Edward; tavern; 401 South Washington 

Kelling, William, Minnie, Anna; 518 South Lafayette 

Kemmer, Charles — Pearl; retired; 306 North Marion 

Kemmer, Fred W. — Carrie; retired; 301 North Washington 

Kennett, Mrs. Hermine (Donald Wayne) 211 North Marion 

Kent, H. B. — Mary; blacksmith; 410 South Lafayette 

Kerns, Edward J. and Sally; retired; 319 North Spring 

Kiick, Mrs. Anna; 120 North Washington 

Kinert, Mrs. Bessie (Mervin) ; 216 North Marion 

Kinert, Mrs. Delia; 402 East Jasper 

Kinert, Earl — Nola (Dale, Helen Jean, Earline) ; engineer; 413 South 

Washington 
Kipp, William — Ola; laborer; 102 North Washington 
Klotz, David — Irene (David S.) street commissioner; 290 South 

Washington. 



KJotz, Mrs. Henry; 220 North Washington 

Klotz, Miss Tillie; 409 West Cooke 

Klotz, Mrs, William; 220 East Monroe 

Knauer, Otto — Anna (Erwin) 200 East McDonald 

Kneebone, T. L. — Inez (William) minister; 203 North Vine 

Kolp, Arthur C. Sr. — Irene (Lois, Katherine, J. Norman); I. C. agt.; 

402 North Belmont. 
Koltz, Miss Lucy; 418 North Vine 

Kratzer, Willard — Lydia; produce dealer; 401 West Cooke 
Krueger, Louis — Mabel (Alvin, Maxine) ; farmer; 412 West Jefferson 

L 

Lachenmyer, Mrs. Sarah (Florence); 103 North Scott 

Lane, Homer O. — Mary (Marion, Eloise, Bernadine) telegrapher; 

309 South Vine. 
Lang, Miss Mary; 300 East McDonald 
Laramee, Ernest — Marie; laborer; East McDonald. 
Laramee, Ferdinand — Rosina (Ernest, Eli, Marguerite, Harold) lab- 
orer; 102 North Washington. 
Laughery, John H.; carpenter; 210 North Garden 
Laughery, Mrs. William; 317 North Washington 
Law, Edward — Margaret; merchant; 411 East Cooke 
Layman, Mrs. Hat tie (Russell, George, and granddaughter, Vera Mae 

Hammond) ; 506 North Washington. 
Leckbee, C. H. — Velma (Merwyn Dean); printer; 408 East Jefferson 
Lee, Ora — Arvilla (Ray); policeman; 207 North Vine 
Lee, Sidney — Ruth (Robert, David, Don); mechanic; 218 South Mar- 
ion. 
Lipp, Albert F. — Bertha (Frederick); insurance; 207 South Marion 
Lipp, Carl — Cora (Dorthalene) plumber; 420 E. Jasper 
Lipp, Mrs. Lorah Z.; 320 North Washington 
Utterly, George — Ella (Doris and Jean Litterly, granddaughters) 

retired; 514 North Washington. 
Loetterle, Miss Winifred; 306 North Lafayette 
Long, Harry; school teacher; 403 West Jefferson 
Long, Mrs. Ruth; 403 West Jefferson 
Lucas, Harry M. — Nell; teacher; 320 North Lafayette 
Lucas, Mrs. Martha; 119 North Spring 
Lucas, Mahlon— Mazzie (Merle); 204 North Vine 
Lucas, Mrs. Mary E.; 114 North Spring 
Ludwig, Frederick — Johanna; minister, 216 West Cooke 

M 

McCarthy, Glenn— Marguerite (Patricia Ann) contractor; 103 North 
Spring. 

McCollough, Mark — Margaret (Bernard, Joe, Nancy, John); school 
teacher; 404 North Vine. 

McOurry, Thomas — Eva (Henry, Thomas, Carl, George, Annis; lab- 
orer; 302 North Marion. 

McDonald, John — Grace; retired farmer; 414 North Vine 

McKellar, Mrs. Anna; 401 South Washington 

McVey, Allen — Emma (Walter, Edward, Noretta, Cecil, Orville, 
Bertha) ; laborer; 515 South Lafayette. 

Manes, Eugene—Harriett (Harry E., Marilyn L., Colleen); clerk; 617 
North Washington. 



Manes, J. P. — Lizzie; laborer; 305 North Washington 

Mann, J. W. — Frances; tavern; South Washington 

Marshall, William — Anna (Lucille, Marjory) laborer; 307 North 

Scott. 
Martin, Orville E. — Marjella (John, Margaret); elevator mgr.; 318 E. 

Morgan. 
Mason, Mrs. J. O.; 215 North Washington 
Mattingly, Mrs. Josie (Woodrow, Charles, Homer, Anna Louise); 

315 South Vine. 
Maxheimer, Henry C; retired; 105 North Vine 
Maxheimer, Miss Jane; 109 South Vine 

Mayer, Edward O. — Minnie; retired merchant; 503 North Lafayette 
Mayer, Fred G. Sr. — Nellie; telephone mgr.; 402 North Marion 
Mayer, Fred, Jr. — Ruth (Robert); telephone lineman; 401 North 

Lafayette. 
Mayer, George A. (Gayetta); painter; 211 North Washington 
Mayer, Henry J. — Ida (Louise, Bernice) cigar mfr.; 221 South 

Washington. 
Mayer, Mrs. Mary (Estella) 311 West Cooke 
Mayer, Oscar W. — Janie (Elizabeth) ; retired; 201 North Belmont 
Medford, Otis D. — Mattie; laborer; 409 West Cooke 
Meister, Elmer — Ruby (Elmer, Mary) ; electrician; 414 East Cooke 
Meister, Fred W. — Frances (Mary Frances) ; retired; 520 North Vine 
Merriman, Dr. C. M. — Nell (Billy, Richard); veterinary; 502 North 

Vine. 
Mier, John C. (Allen); retired; 221 North Belmont 
Millard, George — Rose; contractor; 408 East Chestnut 
Miller, Art — Koneta (Marion, Richard); railroad clerk; 618 South 

Spring. 
Miller, Hubert — Doris; laborer; 408 South Vine 
Milner, John — Daisy (Harry, Virginia); 213 North Mason 
Moll, Walter — Emma (Mary Ellen, Virginia); gardener; 602 North 

Washington. 
Moore, Miss Annie; 500 North Washington 
Moore, Frank — Mabel; 118 South Marion 
Moore, Mrs. Lillian (Dalton) 506 South Garden 
Moore, Louis — Flossie (Pauline, Albert, Harold, Junior, Doris, Betty, 

Colleen); tiling contractor; 500 South Marion 
Moore, Mrs. Myra; 500 North Washington 

Moore, Paul R. — Loretta (Paula Joan, Marcia Ann, Myra Kay) ad- 
vertising mgr.; 204 North Park. 
Moore, Rodney, Jr. — Helen Marie (Richard Lee, Lillian Etna, Anna 

Lorene, Helen Marie) Obermiller Heights. 
Moore, Mrs. Rodney, Sr.; Obermiller Heights. 
Moore, Mrs. T. W.; 118 South Marion 
Mueller, Charles E. — Minnie; tinner; 120 North Park 
Myers, Lee — Emma; retired; 414 West Cooke 
Myers, M J. — Sophia; merchant; 110 South Marion 

N 

Neal, William — Viola (Thomas Crawford) section laborer; 406 South 

Marion. 
Newton, Henry; retired; 800 South Spring 



Niedergesaess, Louis — Louise; retired; 119 South Vine 

Niekrenz, Edward — Emily (Rochelle, Mildred, Winfred) laborer; 104 

North Garden. 
Nolan, Mrs. Margaret; 110 North Vine 



Obcamp, Mrs. Florence (Billy, Jimmy), 118 South Marion 
Obermiller, Mrs. Julia; 600 South Washington 
O'Brien, Lawrence — Mary (Nancy, Billy Joe) 204 South Vine 
O'Bryen, Raymer — Or teen (Roland, Dale); engineer; 421 West Mor- 
gan. 
O'Connor, Mrs. Mae; 307 North Marion 
Oglesby, Edward; retired; 116 North Washington 
Oglesby, Mrs. Emma; 214 North Marion 
Oglesby, Glenn; clerk; 211^ South Washington 



Passmore, Frank — Anita (Mary, Frank); upholsterer; 217 South 
Marion. 

Patterson, Levi — Fannie (Yvonna Price, niece) 501 North Washing- 
ton. 

Patterson, Roscoe — Telia (James, Roscoe W., Fern, Betty, Joseph); 
barber; 314 North Marion 

Peters, Harry — Ina (Thomas Edward) ; section laborer; East German 

Phillips, Carl — Matilda (Millard, Billy, Earl) theatre owner, 109 N. 
Marion. 

Phiuney, E. G. — Mary (Barbara) merchant; 411 South Washington 

Pinney, Mrs. Florence (Robert) teacher; 118 North Belmont 

Potter, Mrs. Lottie; 308 North Garden 

Potter, Omer— Irma (Shirley); oil dealer; 515 East Jefferson 

Purget, John — Kate (Emma); laborer; 102 North Vine 



Bandolph,Mrs. Eliza; 412 North Marion 

Ray, Mrs. Mary; 508 South Marion 

Ray, William; laborer; 508 South Marion 

Reese, Dr. L. O. — Edith (Patsy) dentist; south side square 

Regali, Miss Ilda; cook; 119 North Marion 

Reinders, Mrs. Alma M.; 100 North Marion 

Reinders, Dr. Fred W. — Hazel (Hazel Jean; Roy and Donald Beck- 
ers); dentist; 506 North Vine. 

Renner, Claude W. — Clara; farming; 618 North Marion 

Renner, Guy — Louise (Frances, Claude, Ferol); laborer; 605 North 
Washington. 

Rentmeister, Mrs. Mary; 305 North Garden 

Rentshler, Mrs. Diana — 116 North Spring 

Rentshler, Mrs. Lillie; 510 West Jefferson. 

Riedel, John — Pearl (John, Joseph); laborer; 308 South Vine 

Ridgeway, Leslie— Teania (Russell, Myrtle, Jennie, June, Charles); 
painter; 200 South Marion. 

Rigdon, Miss Annetta; 118 North Belmont 



Rinker, Jacob; laborer; 508 South Marion 

Bobbins, William and Irwin; poolroom; 210 North Marion 

Roberts, John, Etta, Georgia; 318 North Belmont 

Roberts, Mrs. Margaret (Joel) 313 South Marion 

Ronrer, Mrs. John; 612 South Lafayette 

Romer, Mrs. George; 501 North Scott 

Romer, Herman — Minnie; tavern; south side square. 

Romer, Jacob; retired; 221 South Lafayette 

Romer, Roman — Dorothy (Joan, Tommy, Jimmy, Robert); Sieb Hat- 
chery; East McDonald. 

Ross, Russell — Fayetta (Leslie, Paul, Donald, Lois); carpenter; 118 
North Lafayette. 

Roth, Miss Anna; bookkeeper; 403 East Cooke 

Roth, Fred J. — Grace; clerk; Bertoni Apartments. 

Rothweli, Everett — Eula (Georgiabelle) ; salesman; 305 South Wash- 
ington. 

Rothwell, John M. — Clara (Keith, Grace); lumber dealer; 320 West 
Jefferson. 

Rothwell, Thomas L. — Ora (Jackie Rothwell, nephew) 112 North 
Spring. 

Rounsevel, Mrs. Ada; 515 North Marion 

Row, George — Pearl (Bernard) salesman; 414 North Vine 

Row, Walter — Jennie (Herbert W.); laborer; 418 South Garden 

Rule, Harry — Frances (George, Harriett) ; railroad signal repair- 
ing; 321 South Washington. 

Rupp, Mrs. Augusta; 209 North Vine 

Rupp, George — Emma (Mildred, Irma) ; banker; 205 North Vine 

Rupp, Mrs. Lida; 312 North Lafayette 

Rutledge, Orrin — Iva; shoe cobbler; 206 North Lafayette 

Ryan, Albert — Anna (Irma, Alberta, Clara, Amos, Robert); laborer; 
113 North Mason. 

Ryan, Edward — Lillian; laborer; 219 South Marion 

Ryan, Harold — Ethel; laborer; 510 North Garden 

Ryan, Mrs. James T. (Errol) 115 North Marion 

Ryan, Wilford — Ida (June Ann, Wallace); laborer; 813 South Spring 



Sargeant, John; painter; 316 West Jefferson 

Sams, Louis F. — Hazel; Standard Oil mgr.; 216 North Lafayette 

Schafer, Miss Anna; 111 North Belmont 

Schafer, Fred A.— Lillie; 303 South Lafayette 

Schafer, J. Fred; merchant; 111 North Belmont 

Schafer, Henry W. —Margaret; merchant; 508 East Cook street 

Schafer, Mrs. Lena; 119 North Scott 

Schafer, Walter A. — Maynie; merchant; 419 North Vine 

Schaffenacker, Austin W. — Jessie (Rhoda, Jane); garage mgr.; 307 

West Cooke. 
Schaffenacker, Mrs. Fannie; 302 North Washington 
Schaffenacker, Fred G.— Mary; retired; 210 South Garden 
Schahl, George E. — Julia; retired; 113 North Belmont 
Schahl, Gottlieb F.—Katherine (Frieda, Norma) ; 406 East Chestnut 
Schahl, Miss Regina; 503 North Vine 
Schahl, Wilbert H.; funeral director; 107 North Vine 



Schenck, Mrs. Ella; 204 North Spring 

Schick, Mike— Nora (Margaret) shoe repair shop; 110 South Vine 

Scnmitz, Charles — Anna; city clerk; 402 East Cooke 

Schroth, Mrs. Elizabeth; 312 North Lafayette 

Schultz, Charles — Bess (Dean, Doris); merchant; 301 South Vine 

Schwoerer, Wm. A. — Margaret (William, Barbara, Rose Mary, Louis) 

300 East McDonald. 
Scroggin, Byron — Ella (Harold, Howard); gas station; Route 121. 
Scroggin, George L. — Ida (Betty) trucker; 404 North Marion. 
Scroggin, Mrs. Ida; 316 West Jefferson 
Scroggin, Oran O. — Lillie; 308 West Jefferson 
Scroggin, T. A. — Mary; banker; 216 South Vine 
Scroggin, Wilford — Lois (Thomas Arthur, Wilford) 301 West Cooke 
Scott, George; laborer; 505 South Vine 
Sellers, Harold; Kroger mgr.; 305 South Washington 
Seyfer, Miss Clara; 303 North Vine 
Shanle, Edward; laborer; 310 South Lafayette 
Sheridan, George; retired; 104% South Side Square. 
Shively, Mrs. Elizabeth; 413 North Spring 

Shively, Rolla — Herma (Margaret) butcher; 110 North Belmont 
Shoup, Frank — Myrtle; retired; 212 North Lafayette 
Shrader, James H. — Emma; barber; 401 North Washington 
Shull, Darrell — Kathryn (Tommy, Darven); laborer; 104% South 

Side Square. 
Shull, Hiram (Wilbur) laborer; 600 South Spring 
Shull, Richard — Helen (Mary, Rita); auto mechanic; 408 South 

Marion. 
Shull, Russell — Fern (Dorothy May); clerk; 514 East Cooke 
Sisk, Harry S. — Grace (William, Elwin, Harold, Don, Elizabeth, 

George, Mary Anne) mail carrier; 505 East Jefferson. 
Smith, Mrs. Clara; 515 East Jefferson 

Smith, Frank — Mary (Frank, Harris, Richard) 210 North Marion 
Smith, George J. — Bertha; lawyer; 106 Belmont 
Smith, Mrs. J. Will; 418 North Vine 
Snyder, Mrs. Angeline; 108 North Vine 
Snyder, Charles D. — 119 North Mason 

Snyder, Frank B. (John) ; contractor; 121 North Lafayette 
Snyder, George — Nora; carpenter; 120 North Garden 
Snyder, Willis W.; music store; 311 North Lafayette 
Spenler, Fred C. — Charlotte (Gilbert, Winnifred) trucker; 217 North 

Spring. 
Stafford, Mrs. W. H.; 120 North Lafayette 
Staley, J. Wayne — Veta (Darald, J. Wayne, Jr., Wendell) minister; 

400 North Washington. 
Starr, George and Christina; 100 North Park 
Starr, John — Anna (Eva; grandson, Lester) 505 West Cooke 
Stockton, Earl — Charlotte (Phyllis Jean) ; 408 East Chestnut 
Stockton, William F.— Eliza (Lucille, Valeria, Gladys, Alice, Betty, 

Katherine); 410 North Marion. 
Stoll, John E.— Elizabeth (Wilbur); milk dealer; East McDonald 
Stoll, Mrs. Minnie; 115 North Scott 
Stratton, Mrs. James E. (Jessie, Benny, Norman, Wilma) ; 415 North 

Spring. 
Stratton, John—Emma (Dallas); laborer; 402 East Jasper 



Stuart, J. H. — Fern (Virginia, Gustavus); merchant; 405 South 

Marion. 
Soedmeier, George E. — Ada (Paul, Noel); policeman; 205 North La- 
fayette. 
Suedmeier, Henry J.; retired; 403 East Cooke 
Suedmeier, Mrs. Minnie; 315 South Washington 
S winner, J. C. — Eva (Lloyd); merchant; 308 South Washington. 

T 

Taimage, Frank — Helen (Richard) merchant; 417 North Lafayette 

Templeman, Miss Emma; 303 North Belmont 

Tendick, Mrs. Minnie; 211 North Marion 

Theobald; Frank; laborer; 401 South Washington 

Thomas, John; retired; West Morgan. 

Ttxickson, Carl — Ruth; barber; 211 North Marion 

Thrasher, Arthur — Opal (James) North Mason 

Tomlinson, Mrs. Frances (Joyce Ann) ; 305 North Garden 

Tribbett, Mrs. Beatrice (Johnny West, nephew) ; 208 North Spring 

Tribbett, Mrs. Christiann; 416 West Cooke 

Tribbett, Mrs. Georgia; 119 North Mason 

Tomer, Robert; laborer; 208 N. Washington 

Turner, Troll — Frances; barber; 411 South Washington 

Tutwiler, William U. — Lucinda; gardener; 408 North Garden 

Tyler, Burton A. — Kate; lawyer; 219 North Scott 

U 

Underbill, George — Irene (Jane, Virginia Robert) merchant; 51% 

North Washington. 
Inland, Clarence— Martha (John Lendell and Gordon Lee McCar- 

thery) Chevrolet dealer; 317 North Lafayette. 
Upp, Claude W. — Mary; railroad depot clerk; Bertoni Apartments 
Upp, Mrs. Susan (Etta) 215 North Lafayette 
Utterback, Chester — Margaret (Betty May, John Thomas) ; laborer- 

400 South Vine. 

V 

Vaii, Mrs. Ethal (Wilma, Juanita) merchant; 306 North Garden 
Vaudeventer, Dave — Tillie (Hazel, Everett) North Spring 

Vandevender, Mrs. Emma (Howard, Nellie) 207 North Spring 
Vaa Hook, Dr. F. C. — Marie (Harry, Florence, Betty, Mildred); 

physician; 106 North Marion. 
Veail, Ira — Emma; retired; 604 North Vine 
Veech, Jasper — Mary (Emagene, Merle, Wayne, Rhoda) ; laborer; 

516 North Marion. 
Vetter, John — Mary (Frances); retired; 103 North Spring 
Vogelsang, Andrew — Izora; merchant; west side square 
Voile, Mrs. Elizabeth (Louise, Everett, Esther, Ruth Ann) 411 North 

Vine. 
Voile, George A. — Florence (Dan, Frank) banker; 910 South Spring, 
Voile, Henry (Alberta, Henry); retired; 407 North Vine 
Voile, Misses Katie and Mary; 407 North Vine 

w 

Wacaser, Walter D.; postmaster; 501 North Washington. 



Waddell, Loren — Elsie (Jean) laborer; 420 West Jefferson 

Waddell, Mrs. Pearl (Page); 119 North Scott. 

Wagner, Mrs. Katherine (Florence) 107 North Belmont 

Wagner, Ottmar E. — Grace (Charles F.); mail carrier; 109 Belmont 

Walt, Dr. G. F. — Blanche (Edwin) dentist; 520 North Lafayette 

Walker, Mrs. Nell; 315 North Spring 

"Warren, William — Rosa (Betty, Alice, ) laborerSouth La- 

fayette. 

Washburn, Mrs. Hattie (Delia) 103 North Marion 

Weakley, Mrs, Elizabeth; 321 West Cooke 

Weidenbacher, Louis F. — Grace; barber; 408 West Jefferson 

Weidenbacher, Mrs. Matilda; 403 South Spring 

Weidenbacher, Mrs, Theresa — 216 S. Spring 

Weller, Charles — Carrie; retired; 108 North Belmont 

Weller, Chris — Sarah; retired; 304 North Vine 

Weller, George; coal dealer; 401 South Washington 

Weller, Kenneth; ice dealer; 108 North Belmont 

Wells, Harry — Dena, retired; 218 South Garden 

West, Clarence — Dollie; retired; 301 North Lafayette 

Wlble, H. J. — Mlargaret (Geraldine, Jean) publisher; 200 North La- 
fayette. 

Wlble, W. D. — Katherine (Donald Wayne); printer; 502 East Cooke 

William, Dr. Everett — Rebecca (Hilma, Carl, Merle); veterinarian; 
Obermiller Heights. 

Wilson, David — Bertha (Marcella) retired; South Mason 

Wilson, Miss Ida; 405 West Morgan 

Wilson, Reide C. — Letitia; brick mason; 207 North Washington 

Wlrth, Troy — Blanche (Elma Louise); North Garden 

Witt, Mrs. Mary; (Ambrose) ; 400 North Lafayette 

TOttrock, Rev. H. — Sophia (John, Arthur, Bernard) minister; 100 
South Vine. 

Wolf, Miss Ella; 110 North Marion 

Wolfs, Mrs. Emma; 312 South Washington 

Wood, Herman — Mildred (Jo Ann, John H., Shirley) carpenter; 601 
North Marion. 

Woodrum, Arthur — Grace; cafe; 316 West Jefferson 

Wright, Charles; painter; 401 South Washington 

Wynd, Mrs. Amanda (Florence) 310 North Marion 

Wynd, H. V— Daisy (Nina); banker; 506 North Lafayette 

Y 

Yoder, Carl — Pauline; carpenter; 210 South Marion 

z 

Zah, Misses Elizabeth and Margaret; 410 South Marion 
Zah, Gottlieb C. — Celia; custodian Lincoln shrine; 311 South Wash- 
ington. 
Zah, John — Emma; coal dealer; 601 South Spring 
Zimmerli, Samuel — Lucinda; retired; 303 South Marion 
Zlmmermann, Mrs. August; 220 South Lafayette 
Zimmermann, Mrs. Effie (Theron) ; 291 North Lafayette 
Zim merman n, Theodore — Marie (Frederick, Jack) carpenter; 523 

North Vine. 
Zimmermann, Miss Zenobia; grade school principal; 220 South Lafay- 
ette. 



Centennial Pageant 



SPONSORED BY MOUNT PULASKI WOMAN'S CLUB 

MONDAY, NOVEMBER 9, 1936 

HIGH SCHOOL GYM 8:00 P. M* 

NARRATOR Gene C. Clear 

FOUR BOYS— Dick Talmage, Miller Drobisch, Harvey Humble, 

Wendell Staley. 

FOUNDING OF MOUNT PULASKI 

Jabez Capps Rev. J. Wayne Staley 

Barton Robinson Dr. L. O. Reese 

George W. Turley Oscar W. Mayer 

THE FIRST STORE 

Jabez Capps, Proprietor Rev. J. Wayne Staley 

Mrs. Capps Mrs. W. H. Stafford 

Prudence Capps Marilyn Manes 

John Capps Harry Eugene Manes 

Customers — Mrs. Clarence E. West and Mrs. Albert F. Dillsaver 

Andy Danner's Boy Buddy Veech 

John Buckles Henry Mayer 

Jeremiah Birks Oscar W. Mayer 

THE SCHOOL SCENE 

Lake Fork School representing Brush College on ' 
Salt Creek north of Mount Pulaski 

William Hackney, teacher Thomas A. Gupton 

Directors — Harta B. Tendick, William Carpenter, Roy Moore, Alex- 
ander Morrow, William Vandevender, Clyde Fetus. 

PUPILS 

Meredith Patterson Meredith Peterson 

Jean Laughery Jean Guffey 

Paul Fletcher Paul Coats 

Dorothy Capps , Dorothy Baumgardt 

Richard Downing Richard Laatsch 

Delia Mae Harry Delia Mae Koehler 

Patricia Morrow Patricia Guffey 

Wayne Parks Wayne Febus 

Ray Allen _ Ray Peterson 

Harold Lee Jackson Harold Lee Gaffney 



COURT ROOM SCENE 

Abraham Lincoln E. H. Lukenbill 

Judge David Davis B. A. Tyler 

William & Lawrence, lawyers — Henry W. Schafer, Wilbert H. Schahl 
Sheriff, Thomas J. Larison — Roy Moore 
Clerk, Samuel Emmett — Oscar Horn 

Spectators — William B. Capps, Harry B. Capps, John A. Christ- 
man, J.C. Swinney, George Rupp, Dr. G. S. Connelly, John T. 
Hershey, Dan J. Fuhrer, Harry Downing, T. A. Scroggin. 

SEMI-CENTENNIAL SCENE 
Semi-Centennial Committee 

S. Linn Beidler Paul E. Beidler 

T. H. Smedley Harry J. Wible 

C. F. Schafer Walter A. Schafer 

J. P. Fowler Paul R. Moore 

M. J. Reinheimer Omer Potter 

George Jenner Wilbur Stoll 

I. L. Donaldson Dr. G. S. Connelly 

W. M. Martin Harry Downing 

Quartet— Harry J. Wible, Paul R. Moore, Omer Potter, Wilbur Stoll 
Husking Bee and Quadrille — Mr. and Mrs. Ennis A. Downing, Mr. 
and Mrs. Frank Rentshler, Mr. and Mrs. Ellis C. Downing, Mrs. Os- 
wald Brooker, Albert F. Dillsaver. 

Accompanists — Mrs. Frank E. Turley, the Misses Ridgeway. 

THE GAY NINETIES 

Mount Pulaski Woman's Club Chorus 
Mrs. G. S. Connelly, director — Mrs. Frank E. Turley, Accompanist 
Virginia Reel — Township High School Students 

WORLD WAR SCENE 
Elmer Meister, Paul A. Gruber, Leroy Buckles, Orville E. Martin, 
Frank Talmage, George Meister, T. A. Gupton. 

Sailor Harold Hargrave 

Wounded Soldier Ben Ely 

Red Cross Nurse Mrs. L. O. Reese 

In Flanders Field Mrs. Virginia Ey 

Taps Harry J. Wible 

FINALE 

Count Pulaski Glenn Bowers 

Spirit of Future of Mount Pulaski Betty Van Hook 

Ensemble of past and present Mount Pulaskians 

Pageant Written and Directed by Gene C. Clear 
Mrs. G. S. Connelly, Assistant Director 



1937 Picture of Mount Pulaski 



Mount Pulaski, Logan County, Illinois, second largest city in the 
county and at one time the county seat. Population 1400. Located 
9 miles southeast of Lincoln; 23 miles northwest of Decatur; 30 miles, 
northeast of Springfield. 

Transportation: Serviced by two lines of the Illinois Central, 
railroad. Main line between Chicago and St. Louis offers excellent 
service with the Green Diamond, the last word in streamline trains, 
stopping here enroute to St. Louis at 7:34 p. m. Branch line from 
Peoria to Mattoon. On Route 121, Decatur to Peoria; $100,000 
black top road connection with Route 4 at Elkhart 12 miles wesK 
fine year-round gravel and oil connection south to Route 10 (De* 
catur-Springfield). Entire township has gravel roads to every farm 
home. Adjoining townships also gravelled. 

City water supply system furnishes exceptionally good deep welt 
water; is up to the minute and fully paid for. Extensive water mains 
offer ample supply of water for fire protection. 

Fine high school building and splendid curriculum and fine 
teachers make it one of the outstanding schools of the state. Espe- 
cially noted for its fine basketball teams. Splendid grade school 
building and fine teachers. 

Churches — St. John's Lutheran, Zion Ev. Lutheran, Christian, 
Methodist, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic, and Church of God. 

Fire department which is well equipped, fully manned and uni- 
formed has won three state championships. 

Two banks whose ratings are exceptionally high, both weather- 
ing the rigid requirements of 1933. There has never been a banlc 
failure here. 

Mount Pulaski is the home of a Lincoln Memorial Shrine, one 
of the original courthouses in the state in which Lincoln held court 
and practiced law. The building which stands in the center of the 
city square is now in the process of being restored. 

Community is surrounded by one of the most thrifty farming 
sections and the best soil in the United States. Farms are practically 
all owned by their occupants. The community is termed a wealthy 
one. 



BEAUTIFUL MOUNT PULASKI CEMETERY 




. MOUNT PULASKI TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL 




MOUNT PULASKI GRADE SCHOOL 





o 

c 



~D 

cz 
r~ 
> 

c/S 



70 
00 



DO 

> 

00 

7\ 

m 

—I 

DO 
> 



> 



o 
o 



o 

CO 

—I 

> 



> 

I— 
on 



o 



Former Mount Pulaskians 



Mrs. F. G. Adams, 3429 Berry Avenue, Cincinnati, Ohio 

Wm. P. Addle-man — 614 Third Ave., Joliet, Illinois 

Mrs. Brooks R. Aitchison (Irma Buckles) Dale, Brooks Jr., Urbana 

111. 
Robert S. Aitchison, Firestone Co. employee, 4536 Forest Park Blvd., 

St. Louis, Mo., resident until 1936. 
Mrs. D. C. Anderson, 355 S. Columbia St., Union City, Ind. 
James H. Anderson, Orwisburg, Pa. 1879-1916. 
Mrs. Lucy Andrews, 240 N. Park Place, Decatur, Illinois 
Mrs. F. W. Arnold, 832 East Prairie, Decatur, Illinois 

B 

Harry T. Barnard, 4301 Ellis Avenue, Apt. B., Chicago, 111. 

D. L. Barr, 134 N. Adams St., Westmont, Illinois 

A. C. Bartels, Lincoln, Illinois 

F. A. Baumann, 1128 W. 49th St., Los Angeles, California 

Jake Baumann, 2750 N. Richards St., Milwaukee, Wisconsin 

Mrs. Katie Baumann, 1407 8th St., Greely, Colorado 

Ernest Beck (Rose Herliska) Ernest Jr., Musician, Boxing Instr., 

Chicago, 111., 313 Stanley Terrace 1911-1930. 
John H. Beckers (M(ary A. Claus) Mary C. Beckers Attorney, Co. 

Judge, Kankakee, 111., 378 S. Evergreen Ave., 1880-1903. 
Earl Beebe (Doris Lachenmyer) Tommy, 805 19th St., San Marino, 

California. 
Donald C. Beidler, photographer, 22 Moro Court, Manhassett, L. I. 

N. P. Born in Mount Pulaski. 
George C. Beidler (Virgie) linotype operater Daily News, 6239 Black- 
stone Ave., Apt. 102, Chicago, 111. 
S. Lynn Beidler (Brownie Lawrence) Mary Lynn; 7528 Colfax Ave., 

So. Shore Station, Chicago, 111. 
Mrs. X. F. Beidler (Anna Martin) Secretary State School and Col- 
ony, Lincoln, Illinois. Born in Mount Pulaski. 
Walter Benzinger, 1112 N. Dearborn, Chicago, 111. 
Mrs. Katie Bentley, 508 W. Iona Street, Onawa, Iowa 
Chas. B. Bernard (Minnie Rhoads) Willard S. Bernard, Merchant 

Men's Furnishings, Main St., Cheney, Wash., 1869-1879. 
Wm. Bertrang — Hallie (Jean, Colleen) farmer, Kenney, Illinois. Born 

in Mount Pulaski. 
W. G. Bienefeldt (Cora L. Keys) Mrs. Hilda Bayne, Mrs. Mary 

Shaw, Mrs. Esther Schultz, William K., contracting painter, 

3271 6th Ave., Sacremento, Calif., until 1926. 
C. A. Billington, Cisne, Illinois 
Mary Binder, 258 North Main, Decatur, Illinois 
Edward C. Birnbaum (Gladys C. Rupp) farmer, Lincoln, 111., R. 4 — ■ 

1905-1920. 
Harry M. Blout (Emma Rowcliffe) 'George W., Homer G., Byron B., 

pastor M. E. Church, Roberts, Illinois — 1928-1935. 



Jessie Bowles, University Hospital, nurse, Chicago, 111. 

Mrs. Dave Brady, Marshall, Illinois 

Mrs. Joe Brown, Boulder Co. Box 144, Lafayette, Colorado 

Aaron Buckles, Webster City, Iowa 

Elias Buckles (Blanche Brothers) Eugene, Robert, Wholesale Auto 

Supply, 237 Reed St., Waterloo, la., 1895-1912. 
Bernard Buescher, 214 North Main Street, Edgerton, Wisconsin 
William Buescher, 155 N. Waverly, Orange, California 
Mrs. Charles Butler, 1023 Milton Ave., RR1, Springfield, Illinois 

C 

Allen Cain, Amboy, Indiana 

Mrs. Brooks Calver (Martha A. Hunt) Mrs. Alice M. Fisher, niece, 

Kansas City, Mo., Box 2282—1893-1922. 
Mrs. Helen Carter, 4115 Broadway, Chicago, Illinois 
Charles Campbell, Fairfield, Illinois 
George S. Capps (Anna Miller) Eleanor Capps, Printer, 4118 N. 26th 

St., Tacoma, Wash., 1870-1883. 
Miss Ida Capps, Vandalia, 111. 
Linn B. Capps (Lavinia M. Andrews) Decorator, 1612 S. Eye St., 

Tacoma, Wash.— 1874-1881. 
P. A. Capps (Maud C. Chesney) Claudia K. Rogers, Topeka, Kansas, 

905 Madison St., 1876-1889. 
Walter Holden Capps ( Griffin) Custodian Scottish Rite 4307 

Decatur, St., Omaha, Nebr., 1866-1883. 
James W. Carroll, 1934 Arkansas Avenue, Wichita, Kansas 
James Christian (Amy Adaline Huston) Chas Christian, patentright 

and M£g„ Fonda, Iowa; Fred Christian, policeman, East St. 

Louis, 111.; William Christian, contractor, Portland, Oregon; 

Carry Christian, San Bernadino, Calif., retired farmer, Esther- 

ville, Iowa, 1861-1903. 
Mrs. Claries Clark (Leona Zah) 1359 N. Maple, Decatur, Illinois 
Cletus Clobes, Arrick Engraving Co., Decatur, Illinois 
Mrs. Jean Cochran (Margaret Zimmermann) 1360% N. Morgan, 

Decatur, Illinois. 
Ralph Cook, Route 2, Chandlerville, Illinois 
W. T. Cowan, Allegree, Kentucky 
John Crane, Lincoln, 111., R. R. 4 

Perlie Craft, projectionist Vogue Theatre, Lincoln, 111., 1921-1935. 
John Cravens, Williamsville, Illinois 
Mrs. George B. Croll, 433 Briar Place, Chicago, Illinois 
Mrs* Alma Cunningham (Alma Vonderlieth) bookkeeper, W. P. A. 

office, Carry, Penn. 
Mrs. C. J. Cunningham, 1713 North Madison, Peoria, Illinois 
Maude A. Cusick, 311 West Stanton Street, Streator, Illinois 

D 

Mrs. Walter Damarin, Williamsville, 111. 

William C. Danks (Tillie E. Lanham) Edna M. Latham, Willa E. 

Marschner, Josephine J. Donald, Raymond B. Danks, Fern L. 

Danks, Denver, Colo., 2230 Dexter, near Mt. P. 1893-1902. 
Mrs. Oscar Banner, Harold, 464 Moss Ave., Oakland, California, 

1893-1903. 
Mrs. Chas. A. Dawson, 414 Forest Ave., Pacific Grove, California 
Creed H. Dawson (Rachel Brewer) Farmer, 1852-1883. 



Mrs. Gus Deckard, West Liberty, Illinois 

Arthur DeFrees, 4 Linden Place, Bergenfield, N. J. 

Mrs. Kay Demmitt, 3428 Polk Street, Chicago, Illinois 

George Dertinger (Florence Craig) George, Jr.. coach, Lewistown, 111. 

Mrs. Harry L. Diller (Goldie Mason) 451 E. King St., Decatur, Illi- 
nois. 1895-1920. 

Mrs. Bertha Donnon, 219-3rd St., Peoria, Illinois 

Dorsett, C. E., Lincoln, Illinois 

Floyd E. Downing (Lela Irving) Richard, Rural Mail Carrier, Illiopo- 
lis, 111., 1920-1933. 

Mrs. Frank Downing (Irene Clark) 529 W. First St., Long Beach, 
Calif. 

Richard Downing (Mary Lucille Rothwell) Firestone Mgr., 4232 
Forrest Park Blvd., St. Louis, Mo. 

OUie E. Drake, 816 Broadway, Mattoon, Illinois 

Mrs. M. L. Drobisch, 5826 Erie, Chicago, Illinois 

G. A. Drum (Erma M r Ater) Harry R., Rex A., Donald, Bess Drum 
Haines, Publisher, Tolono, 111. — 1910-1929. 

Dick Duff, 310 Gilette Ave., Waukegan, 111. 



Thelma Ebert, former teacher, Washington, 111. 

Mrs. E. E. Edwards, Rural Route, Owen, Wisconsin 

Mrs. Lee G. Edwards, Butternut, Wisconsin 

Mrs. H. F. Ely, Niantic, Illinois 

Fercy Ely (Delia Moore) Mildred; Marshall Field & Co., 1133 
George St., Chicago, Illinois. 

Charles E. Eminger (Blanche Berkley) Electrical Shop, Pasadena, 
Calif., 760 N. Walnut St., 1890-1911. 

Earle L. Eminger (Gladys Williams) June Ann Eminger Sinclair, 
Loren Wayne, Carol Jean, Express Agent, Maywood, 111., 1616 
S. 6th Ave., 1890-1909. 

Enlow, Wm., Heyworth, Illinois 

Dr. Lawren R. Evans (Neva McCleary) Robert H. Phi Psi, North- 
western University, Evan William, dentist, Dixon, 111., 221 E. 
Fellows St. 1891-1913. 



F. W. Field, 833 South Third St., Springfield, Illinois 

Mrs. Emma French, 834 N. Ridgewood Place, Hollywood, California 

Mrs. W. E. Fry, 412 East Rafter St., Springfield, Illinois 

Boyd Frye, 2003 E. Taylor, Bloomington. Illinois 

F. W. Fuhrer, 700 West Barker St., Peoria, Illinois 



Mrs. Ella Gaffney, Dawson, Illinois 

J. W. Galloway, RR1. Woodward, Okla. 

Mrs. Mary Gasaway, 431 So. 7th, Springfield, 111. 

T. P. Gasaway, Annona, Texas 

Clarence Robert Gilchrist (Wilma Purviance) salesman, Lincoln, 111. 

120 Park Place —1899-1922. 
Miss Mattie Gingry, 316 7th Ave., Peoria, Illinois 
F. R. Gobleman, Holcomb, Kansas 



Joyce Goodburn, Worthing, South Dakota 

J. H. Gordon, 3202 North 29th St., Tacoma, Washington 

Fred Grathwohl, Sr., (Johanna Schuldt) Fred Grathwohl Jr., janitor, 

Milwaukee, Wis., 1719 W. Keefe Ave., 1895-1920. 
Otto Green, Pleasant Plains, Illinois 
Mrs. Ray Gregory (Pauline Rupp) Feed and Fuel, 1922 Kelton Ave., 

West Los Angeles, Calif. — 1919. 
Herbert Greenslate (Fern Bailey) Decatur, Illinois, R. 1. 
Mrs. Fred Grover, 224 West Prairie St., Decatur, Illinois 
M. E. Gulso, Withee, Wisconsin 

H 

Mrs. Frida Hagland, 512 'Grand Street, Danville, Illinois 

Chester Haines (Bess Drum) Donald, druggist, 4562 Lexington, St. 

Louis, Missouri, 1910-1927. 
Mrs. M. E. Hall, Haines City, Florida 
Ova A. Harbert (Bettie Lea Litterly) Marcella Ruth, Jessie Eloise, 

Ralph Elias, farmer, Decatur, 111., RR3 — 1917-1932. 
Florence Harding, Rockwell City, Iowa 

Harry B. Harper (Louise DuBoce) Harry Jr., Foreman at IPL Gar- 
age, 812 W. Waggoner, Decatur, 111. — 1890-1916. 
Forrestine Harrison, 7353 N. Paulina Street, Roger Ok Sta., Chicago 
Glenn H. Harrison, 1127 South Grant, Denver, Colorado 
Mrs. Harley Haynes, Onawa, Iowa 
Bertha Heckler, 715 South Second St., Springfield, 111. 
Jodie Heller, 8137 Evans Avenue, Chicago, Illinois 
Lawrence Herget (Emma Schahl) Farming, Geneseo, 111. — 1899-1934 
H. I. Hershey, 151 W. 190th, P. O. Station O., New York 
Minnie Hershey, 1243 W. Wood St., Decatur, Illinois 
Dr. Noel Hershey (Mary) medical; 424 N. 4th, Niles, Michigan. 

E. T. Heyne, Long Prairie, Minnesota 
Mrs. Harold Hickey, Williamsville, 111. 

F. E. Hill (Ailene Snyder) Lucre tia, druggist, Lander, Wyo. to 1924. 
Mrs. W. L, Hodson, 1024 Enos Ave., Springfield, 111. 

Rev. Wm. Hoffman (Amelia Roth) minister, Melbourne, Ky. 1885- 

1904. 
Floyd F. Holler. Clerk, 1062 W. Packard St., Decatur, 111., 1883-1917. 
Earl E. Holmes, Beason, Illinois 

Mrs. Ernest Hoist, 1205 E. Johns St., Decatur, Illinois 
Louis M. Hopping (Helen Boutwell) Jean, Irene, George, William, 

Assistant U. S. Attorney, 11996 Indiana Ave., Detroit, Michi- 
gan, 1912-1923. 
Arthur Horn (Elizabeth Deibert, deceased) Govt. Clerk in General 

Accounting office, 1011-M. St., N. W. Washington, D. C. 

1882-1905. 
Elizabeth Horn, MSlliner, 2518 Wilson Ave., Chicago, 111. 
Richard Willis Horn (Doris Alberta Lemon) Richard Kelly, Barbara 

Lou, Marilyn Zane, Lloyd Evan, Capt. CCC Camp, Milford, 

Utah, 1893-1916. 
Mrs. Henry Hornbeck, 6232 N. Mozart, Chicago, Illinois 
Oscar F. Huck (Rachel Hinrichsen) Merchant tailor, 706 S. Hill St., 

Los Angeles, Calif., 1880-1905; 1915-1918. 
Eli Huston, 1553 North College Street, Decatur, 111. 



J 

Henry L. Jamison (Lois E. Clark) White Sulphur Springs, Montana. 
William O. Johnson, 615 Stoddard Ave., Wheaton, Illinois 

K 

B. H. Keck (Fannie Scroggin) Sheriff Logan County, Lincoln, 111. 

R. S. Keck (Amelia Buehler) Betty, Robert; Deputy Sheriff, Lincoln, 
111. 

Fred Kemmer, 1516 West 45th St., Los Angeles, California 

Rev. W. N. King (Sara Belle Sutton) Minister, Fairview, 111., 1924- 
1932. 

Mrs. C. H. Koehnle, 12732 Freud Ave., Apt. 14, Detroit, Michigan 

James C. Korkoskie (Louise Schmidt) Hotel Owner, 2 S. Locust St., 
Pana, Illinois— 1910-1924. 

Charles O. Kosischke (Caroline Danner) Karl D., Norman J., Dor- 
othea A., International Silverware Co., 102 S. Spring St., 
Meriden, Conn., 1888-1902. 

Kate M. Kusterer, Moorland, Iowa 

Mrs. Dan Kusterer, 1415 3rd Ave., North, Ft. Dodge, Iowa. 

L 

Mrs. L. E. Lamkin, 408 North Prairie St., Champaign, Illinois 
John H. Lassen (Fern E. Clem) Hilma, Dorothy, Mlarjorie, John Jr., 

Dallas, New Castle, Ind., 1209 S. 25th, carpenter 1914-1934. 
Roy Leapley, Shipping Clerk, 323 6th St., Peoria, HI. 
Arthur W. Leslie (R. Alma Lacey, deceased) Real Est. Broker, Los 

Angeles, Calif., 1545 N. Orange Grove, 1898-1918. 
Mrs. E. M. Lincoln, 4325 8th Ave., Rock Island, Illinois 
Roy Love, Broadwell, Illinois 

Earl Lucas, 1122 East 67th Street, Jackson Park Sta., Chicago, 111. 
George Lucas, Gorham, Illinois 

Mrs. W. T. Lushbaugh, 307 S. Gillet St., Tulsa, Okla. 
Helena Luther, former teacher at high school, Dundee, Illinois 

M 

Walter D. MacAllister (Mtedora Caroline Seyfer) Lois Katherine 
MacAllister Hinsey, secretary Arkansas City Savings Building 
and Loan, Arkansas City, Kans., 502 N. Second St., 1874-1894. 

Frank C. McElvain (Jessie Capps) proof reader on Topeka Daily 
Capital, 1020 Western Ave., Topeka, Kansas, 1872-1889. 

Mrs. A. E. McDonald, 715 Eleventh Street, Greeley, Colorado 

Mrs. J. H. McMath, 1205 No. Yakin, Lowell Apts. No. 3, Tacoma, 
Washington. 

Ed J. McNattin (Anna ) Cleaner and Dyer, 6411 N. Seminary, 

Galesburg, 111., descendants of Jabez Capps. 

Raymond McNattin, Electrician, 404 W. Vine St., Champaign, HI., 
descendant of Jabez Capps. 

Mrs. Robert Malone, Sims, Illinois 

W. M. Martin, 2931 North Charles St., Baltimore, Maryland 

Mrs. Alfred Maxey, 524 Hillsdale Street, Inglewood, California 

Mrs. Nancy Maxey (Amelia Rupp) 804 Fourth St., Santa Monica, Cal. 

Carl Maxheimer, Lanesville, Illinois 

W. A. Maxheimer, 3732 N. Monticello Ave., Chicago, 111. 

Everett W. Mayer, Box 3542, Santurce, Porto Rico 



Louis F. Mayer, 3224 Richmond Ave., Mattoon, Illinois 

Norman C. Mayer (Catherine Cryan) Statistician, Public Service Co. 

of Northern Illinois, Chicago, 111., 72 W. Adams St. 
Robert W. Mayer (Nelle De Atley) Nancy Catherine Mayer, Univer- 
sity Instructor, Bethlehem, Pa., Lehigh University. 
Kussel Miles (Velma Vetter) Mary Elaine, 7722 Oglesby Ave., So. 

Shore Station, Chicago, Illinois. 
Mrs. Carrie Miller (Carrie Rupp) 804 Fourth St., Santa Monica, Cal. 
Mrs. A. Moelhenry, 2632 Lakeview Ave., Chicago, Illinois 
Alex Morrow (Belle Wilson) Alsa Morrow, Mary Morrow Davies, 

Edna Mjorrow, Postal Service, Kansas City, Mo., 212 E. 74th 

St. 1884. 
Mrs. A. Muldoon, Decatur, Texas 

Mrs. Carrie Myers (Morris) 406 W. Oregon, Urbana, 111. 
Dr. Jacob Myers (Gertrude B. Myers) Joanne (Mrs. Noah Fabrienet) 

Jacob Jr., June, physician and surgeon, 5131 Woodlawn Ave., 

Chicago, Illinois. 1890-1910. 

N 

D. F. Nickols (Edith Holland) Franklin Jr., Dorothy Diers, deceased, 

Supt. of City Schools, Lincoln, 111., 604 Peoria St., 1882-1904. 
Fred C. Null, Benton Harbor, Mich. 

O 

Margaret Ophardt, Lincoln, 111., 1118 E. Pekin St., 1880-1934. 

P 

Raymond Passmore, 4066 Lindell Blvd., St. Louis, Mo. 

Geo. A. Pattison, 921 S. Spring, Springfield, Illinois 

Sarah Popelle, 904 W. Main, Decatur, Illinois 

Renzi Potter, 1211 South 'Grant St., Denver, Colorado 

James Pugh, Kenney, Illinois 

Virgilia Parke Pumpelly, Massapequa, N. Y. 

R 

James Rainey (Mary Ralston) Mary Jeanette, Loans & Real Estate, 

Estherville, Iowa, 924 E. Main 1880-1904. 
Mrs. William Henry Ralston (Helen E. Lushbaugh) Bess Ralston, 

Cedar Rapids, la., 815-18th S. E.— 1856-1917. 
John O. Rames, 1272 Columbine Ave., Denver, Colorado 
S. R. Reynolds, R. R. No. 1, Decatur, Illinois 
T. N. Reynolds, U. S. S. Oklahoma, San Diego, California 
Elizabeth Richmond, 221 Bigelow St., Peoria, 111., 1872-1886. 
Mrs. Waldo A. Rigal, 2444 Van Buren Sta. D., Chicago, Illinois 
Anna Rinker, 504 S. Cuyler, Oak Park, Illinois 
Curtis Risk, Stockton, Calif. 

Mrs. C. K. Roberts, 1485 Chicago Blvd., Detroit, Michigan 
Edward Roth, Wellington, Ohio 
Jennie Rowe, Kenney, Illinois 
William Rupp (Helen Menke) Banking, Quincy, 111. 300 S. 12th St. 

Until 1899. 
Charles Rupp (Minnie Horn) Fresno, California 
Miss Effie Rupp, 804 Fourth St., Santa Monica, Cal. 
Mrs. Bernice Rutt, Maryland Hotel, Glendale, California 



s 

Katherine Sams, 247 West Division St., Decatur, Illinois 
Marie Sams, 3057 Washington Blvd. Chicago, Illinois 

A. F. Schiltz, 754 Citizens Bldg., Decatur, Illinois 

Mrs. Frances Binder Schmidt, Mildred Schmidt, Decatur, HI., 660 W. 

Wood St. 
Dewey Schroth, 1037 Laurel Ave., Hamilton, Ohio 
William Schultz (Emma Eschbaugh) Minnie Fox, Anna Reed, Lucille 

Stewart, Harry Schultz, Will Schultz, retired farmer, 7824 W. 

Madison St., Forest Park, 111. — 1880-1930. 

B. F. Scroggin (Arthilda Gasaway) Banker, Oak, Nebr., 1862-1887. 
Dr. G. T. Scroggins, 624 Moore Bldg., San Antonio, Texas 

Robert P. Seyfer (Marie A. Rockbud) Robert P. Seyfer, Jr., Account- 
ant, Fort Smith, Arkansas, 1200 N. 33rd St., 1872-1893. 
M. J. Shafer (Anna Bender) Owensville, Indiana, Highway Construc- 
tion work— 1902-1920. 
Herschel Shrader, Lincoln, Illinois 
Leslie Smith (Nona Hoist) Sonia Louise, Shirley Jean, Attorney, 

Forest Park, 111., 851 S. Lathrop Ave., 1908-1924. 
Mrs. Marvin Smith, 645 S. 21 Street, Maywood, Illinois 
Harold M. Snowden (Vera Horn) John Horn, Marion Sciota, Account- 
ant, 2518 Wilson Ave., Chicago, 111.— 1891-1921. 
D. A. Snyder, 330 11th St., Neenah, Wisconsin 
Joseph C. Snyder, 1452 Fargo Ave., Chicago, Illinois (until 1934) 
Mrs. J. J. Snyder, Rl, Box 171, Thorp, Wisconsin 
Lawrence O. Snyder, 302 N. 48th Street, Omaha, Nebr. 
W. Walter Snyder, 613 Liberty Street, Flint, Michigan 
Manley Sparks, 315% S. 5th Street, Springfield, HI. 
Mrs. Walter J. St. John, No. 3 Briarwood, Bloomington, Illinois 
Louis Stichler, Concordia, Kansas 
D. F. Stockton, 1121 South 21, New Castle, Indiana 
W. J. Stookey, retired, Box 173, Middletown, Calif., 1892-1901. 
Gustavus Stuart, teacher at H. S. Paw Paw, Illinois 
Mrs. L. Stuller, Thessalon, Route 2, Ontario, Canada 
W. E. Suedmeier, Rural Route 4, Mitchell, South Dakota 
Mrs. Susan Suttle, R. R. 1 Box 235, Placentia, California 

T 

Carl Tendick (Mary Holmes) Teddy, Carol; interior decorator, 1010 
Sixth Ave., S. E., Rochester, Minn. 

A. H. Tomlinson, Jr., (Lorene Earles) Beth Elain, principal, Broad- 
well, Illinois — 1906-36. 

John Tomlinson, 13711 Graham Avenue, East Cleveland, Ohio 

J. G. Toole, Route 3, Jackson, Mississippi 

Mrs. J. S. Treft, 520 S. Court St., Cleveland, Mississippi 

Elmer Turley, Greeneville, Mississippi 

U 

Henry C. Unkauf (Johana Brown) Stationary engineer (2609 St. Vin 
cent St.) Saint Louis, Mo. — 1898-1927. 

V 

Mrs. A. E. Van Hook, Tecusmeh, Michigan 

Major Henry Mitchell Van Hook (Dessa Scroggin) U. S. Army, Fort 

Sheridan, HI. Until 1917. 
Wesley Van Hook, 1521 E. Walnut, Decatur, Illinois 



Mrs. Margaret Voile (Margaret Horn) Springfield, 111., 628 E. Capi- 
tal Ave., 1924. 

M. E. Voile, Sec. & Treas., Champaign Production, Credit Ass'n. 
Champaign, 111., 123 S. Neil St., 1905-1930. 

Beva M. Voile, teacher, New Athens, 111. 

Henry L. Vonderlieth (Jane Lyster Splint) Adolph, Executive Vice 
President, Financial World, New York City, N. Y., 21 West 
St., 1881-1904. 

Leanore Vonderlieth (Vaughn De Leath) well known radio singer; 307 
E. 44th St., New York City, N. Y. 

Julius E. Vonderlieth (Josephine Moser) Traffic Manager, Cleveland, 
Ohio— 1894-1918. 

Walter Vonderlieth; Financial World; 5 Mile Road, S. Norwalk, Conn. 

W 

Elmer B. Waddell (Frances M. Guntern) Dorothy C, Postoffice 
Clerk, Decatur, 111., 1358 N. Union St. 

Herbert L. Wagner (Lucia M. Hahn) Vernon H., Mona Louise, Mar- 
garet Emilie, Donna Lucia, New York State Gas & Elec. Corp., 
Lockport, N. Y., 515 Willow St. —1911. 

Floyd O. Weckel (Cordelia Devantier) Cleatus and Fern Weckel, 
Marjorie Weckel Haskins, Rock Island, 111., 602 Second St. 

Paul L. Weidenbacher (Catherine Yazell) Co. Rec. of Deeds, Spring- 
field, 111., 2548 S. 6th, 1903-1919. 

Mrs. William Welch, Route 6, Lincoln, Illinois 

Vivian Weller, Bovey, Minnesota 

E. D. Wendling, 1755 N. Main, Decatur, Illinois 

Leonard Werlich, 1106 Clinton Street, Lincoln, Illinois 

Amos N. West, Rock, Kansas 

Mrs. W. R. Wilcox, 2011 Pleasant St., Des Moines, Iowa 

Wayne Wisegarver (Kitty B. Turley) Norma June, Irma Lee, Jessie 
Mae, Farming, Deland, 111., 1895-1915. 

Tom Witt, 307 y 2 Lafayette, Council Bluffs, Iowa. 

Mrs. Lillie Woelful (Lillie Rupp) 804 Fourth St., Santa Monica, Calif. 

O. E. Wolcott (Dora Obermiller) Eutana; Insurance, Box 3, Cap Hill 
Sta., Denver, Colorado. 

George Wolfs, 14414 Mansfield Avenue, Detroit, Michigan 

Frank Wood, Rural Route Three, Neillsville, Wisconsin 

Mrs. Tena Woods, 217% E. Adams St., Springfield, 111. 

William E. Wright (Maude E. Walker) Eugenia Wright McCullock, 
Attorney, Nevada City, Calif. — 1876-1896. 

Y 

Claude M. Yocum (Grace Wylder) Truman R. Yocum, Mrs. Robert 

McPheron, Stuart E. Yocum, farmer, Jerseyville, 111., R. R. 4, 

1876-1903. 
Mrs. George W. Yocum (Laura Alice Young) Clyde H., Claude M., 

Mrs. Ross Chappell, farmer, Jerseyville, 111., 206 S. Arch. 

1874-1903. 

Z 

A. G. Zelle (Kathryn Fryer) Mortician, Elkhart, Ind., 221 W. Lex- 
ington, 1892-1910. 
C. A. Zelle, Tolono, Illinois 
W. J. Zeiss, Mission, Texas 



. . CHRISTIAN CHURCH 




ST. JOHN'S LUTHERAN CHURCH 




. . ZION EV. LUTHERAN CHURCH 




ST. THOMAS CATHOLIC CHURCH 

/ 

4* ■ / 




METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH 




CHURCH OF GOD 





>- 

< 

Q 
O 



LU 



< 



Q/ 



O 



< 



o 




Organisations and Officers 



In the Centennial Year 



Boy Scout Troop No. 22 

Scoutmaster: Gene Manes 

Assistants Harry Deibert and 
Harry Sisk. 

Troop Committee: 

President: Frank Talmage 

Sec.-Treas.: Ben Ely 

Members: Orville Mlartin, C. 
M. Merriman, Harry J. Wible 

Organized Dec. 7, 1936. Meet- 
ing 1 place at Grade School 
gym, Monday nights. 

Cemetery Association 

President: William Becker 
V. President: George Rupp 
Secretary: Anna E. Eminger 
Treasurer: H. Virgil Wynd 
Trustees: William Beckers, Geo 
Rupp, H. Virgil Wynd, Ed- 
ward O. Mayer, George J. 
Smith, Harry B. Capps. 

Centennial Glee Club 

President: Wilbur Stoll 
Sec.-Treas.: O. W. Mayer 
Bus. Mgr. : Harry J. Wible 
Organized 1934 



CHURCHES 

Christian Church 

Pastor: J. Wayne Staley 
Elders: T. A. Scroggin, Henry 

Horn, R. T. Harper. 
Deacons and Deaconesses: O. 
W. Mayer, O. O. Scroggin, F. 
E. Turley, Charles Kemrner, 
E. A. Downing, Harry Down- 
ing, Dr. G. S. Connelly, Geo. 
Underhill, Eugene Downing, 
Mrs. J. M. Rothwell, Mrs. B. 
A. Tyler, Mrs. Harry Down- 
ing, Miss Sciota Horn. 
S. S. Supt: Dean Cull en 
Choir Director, Mrs. G. S. Con- 
nelly. 
Founded 1868. 



Church of God 

Pastor: Ben O. Williams 

Methodist Church 

Pastor: T. L. Kneebone 
Trustees: John T. Hershey, 

Wm. Beckers, Claude Upp, 

Albert Shellhammer, Albert 

Allspach. 
S. S. Supt. Harry Sisk 
Choir Director: Mrs. V. Con- 

nolley. 
Founded 1841 

St. John's Lutheran Church 

Pastor: Frederick R. Ludwig 
Trustees: Gus Drobisch, Henry 

Schafer, Fred Meister. 
Deacons : Roy Aylesworth, John 

Downing, Walter Drobisch. 
Elders: W. B. Jenner, W. F. 

Binder, Page Waddell, Sr. 
S. S. Supt.: Mrs. F. Ludwig 
Choir Director: Mrs. F. Ludwig 
Founded October 26, 1868. 

St. Thomas Aquinas 
Catholic Church 

Pastor: J. W. McGinn 
Trustees: Frank Sams and Joe 

Fuhrer. 
Choir Director: Mrs. Lorah Z. 

Lipp. 
Founded 1860. 

Zion Evangelical Lutheran 
Church 

Pastor: H. Wittrock 

Trustees: Geo. F. Dittus, W. S. 

Hahn, John H. Tendick. 
Chairman: Herbert E. Finke 
Treasurer: Raymond Hahn 
Secretary: A. H. Hahn 
S. S. Supt.: Arthur Wittrock 
Organist: Mrs. Emilie Feuer- 

bacher. 
Founded 1851 



CLUBS 



LODGES 



Woman's Club 
President: Mrs. Paul E. Beidler 
V. Pres.: Sciota B. Horn 
Secretary: .Mrs. Otto Ey 
Treasurer: Mrs. Dan J. Fuhrer 
Directors: Mrs. Katie Bloye, 

Mrs. Harry Downing, Mrs. G. 

S. Connelly. 

Art Unit 

Mrs. Oswald Brooker, Chairman 

Garden Unit 

Mrs. John T. Downing, Chair- 
man. 

Music Unit 

Mrs. George S. Connelly, Chair- 
man. 

Junior Woman's Club 
President: Dorothy Bender 
V. Pres.: Virginia Kautz 
Secretary: Jean Wible 
Treasurer: Doris Schultz 

Household Science Club 

President: Mrs. Anna Eminger 
V. Pres.: Mrs. Russell Ross 
Secretary: Mrs. Chas. Schmitz 
Treasurer: Mrs. Lida Rupp 

Fire Department 

Fire Chief: O. W. Mayer 
Asst. Chief: Frank Snyder 
Treasurer: M. J. Myers 
Secretary: Claude Holler 
Steward: George Snyder 
Standing Committee: Chris J. 
Kautz, Frank B. Snyder, 
Walter M. Drobisch, William 
F. Binder, Charles Schultz. 
Truck Driver: Fred Holmes and 
Walter Drobisch. 

Horse Show Association 

President: George L. Meister 
V. President: Herbert Schaffeir 

acker. 
Secretary: Ed Dittus 
Directors : Mike Schlachter, 
Frank Rentschler, Frank Bueh- 

ler and Steve Patterson. 



Eastern Star 

Worthy Matron: Mrs. Florence 

Obcamp. 
Worthy Patron: Ben W. Ely 
A. Matron: Mrs. Irene Mat- 
thews. 
A. Patron: W. Glover Matthews 
Sec: Mrs. Lois Scroggin 
Treas.: Mrs. Kittie Duff 
Conductress : Miss Alberta Voile 
A. Conductress: Mrs. Ethel 

Downing. 
Chaplain: Mrs. Marie Van Hook 
Marshall: Mrs. Bertha Smith 
Organist: Mrs. Grace Waddell 
Adah: Mrs. Margaret Hildreth 
Ruth: Mrs. Eula Rothwell 
Esther: Miss Georgiabelle Roth- 
well. 
Martha: Mrs. Mino Allspach 
Electa: Mrs. Letha Drobisch 
Warder: Mrs. Amelia Binder 
Sentinel: F. W. Reinders 

Mount Pulaski Lodge 
No. 87 A. F. & A. M. 

Worshipful Master: E. L. Roth- 
well. 
Senior Warden: Morrel Deibert 
Junior Warden: C. E. Holmes 
Treasurer: C. E. West 
Secretary: E. A. Downing 
Senior Deacon: John R. Curtis 
Junior Deacon: H. V. Wynd 
Senior Steward: G. F. Wait 
Junior Steward: F. E. Turley 
Chaplain: E. K. Rothwell 
Marshall: A. W. Schaffenacker 
Tyler: E. T. Goddard 

Mount Pulaski Chapter 
No. 121 R. A. M. 

High Priest: G. F. Wait 
King: E. K. Rothwell 
Scribe: A. W. Schaffenacker 
Treasurer: C. E. West 
Secretary: E. A. Downing 
Chaplain: B. W. Ely 
Captain of Host — F. E. Turley 
R. A. Captain: E. L. Rothwell 
Principal Sojourner: C. W. Upp 
Master 3d V.: G. J. Smith 
Master 2d V.: H. V. Wynd 
Master 1st V.: Geo. Underhill 
Steward: W. B. Jenner 
Sentinel: E. T. Goddard 



Mount Pulaski Commandary 
No. 39 Knights Templar 

Commander: William G. Mat- 
thews. 
Generalissimo: E. L. Rothwell 
Captain General: B. N. Myrick 
Senior Warden: L. F. McCann 
Junior Warden: L. J. Oberry 
Prelate: Claude W. Upp 
Treasurer: C. E. West 
Recorder: E. A. Downing 
Standard Bearer: E. L. Kret- 

zinger. 
Sword Bearer: Geo. M. Under- 
bill. 
Warder: T. G. Bruce 
Color Bearer: A. F. Lipp 
Sentinel: E. T. Goddard 
Finance Board: J. M, Rothwell, 
chairman; G. A. Voile, C. M. 
Merriman, E. K. Rothwell, 
W. G. Matthews. 

Modern Woodmen Lodge 

Consul: Harrv Sisk 
Adviser: Chris Beck 
Banker: John Barton 
Escort: Elton Barton 
Clerk: Troll Turner 
Asst. Clerk: Eugene G. Phinney 
Watchman: Walter McVey 
Sentry: Otis D. Medford 
Managers: Henry W. Schafer, 
W. A. Schafer and Wm. B. Jen- 
ner. 



burn, deceased; Mrs. Harry 
Sisk, (filled vacancy). 

Vice Grand: Miss Nellie Vande- 
vender. 

Past Noble Grand: Mrs. Alma 
Hargrave. 

Rec. Secretary: Mrs. Lottie 
Hahn. 

Fin. Secretary: Mrs. Anna E. 
Eminger. 

Treasurer: Mrs. Mattie Med- 
ford. 

Deputy: Mrs. Emma Brooker 

Trustees: Mrs. Eliza Dawson, 
Mrs. Delia Kinert, Mrs. Mary 
Mier, Mrs. Ada Suedmeier, 
Mrs. Sarah Weller. 

Royal Neighbors Lodge 

Oracle: Mrs. Cecil Buckles 
Past Oracle: Mrs. John McDon- 
ald. 
Vice Oracle: M;rs. Russell Ross 
Chancellor: Mrs. Elmer Mier 
Recorder: Mrs. Lottie Hahn 
Receiver: Mrs. Arthur Wood- 
rum. 
Marshall: Mrs. Paul A. Gruber 
Inner Sentinel: Mrs. Edward 

Goddard. 
Outer Sentinel: Mrs. William E. 

Holmes. 
Musician: Mrs. Fern Cook 
Managers: Mprs. Carl Lipp and 
Mrs. Uriah Tendick. 



Odd Fellows 

Noble Grand: Harold Hargrave 
Vice Grand: Theo. Aderman 
Rec. Sec: Earl Kinert 
Fin. Sec: James Shrader 
Treasurer: M. J. Myers 
Warden: Lon Davis 
Conductor: Ellis Wood 
R. S. N. G.: John Davis 
L. S. N. G.: O. W. Mayer 
R. S. V. G.: Elmer Mier 
L. S. V. G.: Claude Bowles 

0. G.: H. C. Gruber 

1. G.: Arthur Woodrum 
Chaplain: Harry Sisk 
R. S. S.: Al O'Connor 

L. S. S. George Gieseke, Jr. 

Rebekah Lodge 

Noble Grand: Miss Lillian Wash 



OFFICIALS 

City Council 

Mayor: C. L. Frazier 
Members: John M. Rothwell, R. 

D. Aitchison, William Binder, 

Henry Voile, W. Edward 

Birks. 
City Clerk: Chas. Schmitz 
Supt. Water Works: Walter 

Drobisch. 
Street Com.: David Klotz 
Treasurer: Mrs. Fayetta Ross 
City Atty.: George J. Smith 
Police Mag.: Lloyd Arnold 

Township Officers 

Supervisor: Charles Brooker 
Clerk: Dan J. Fuhrer 



Com. of High.: George Sued- 

meier. 
Justices of the Peace: A. F. 

Dillsaver and Shelby Curtis. 
Constables: George E. Sued- 

meier and Charles E. Schultz 

Ryman-Fuiten American 
Legion Post No. 447 

Commander: Thomas A. Gup- 
ton. 
Adjutant: Frank Talmage 
Chaplain: Wilhelm G. Kautz 
Sergeant-at-arms : Dean Foster 
Bugler: Ben W. Ely. 

Ladies' American Legion 
Auxiliary 

President: Mrs. Paul Gruber 
V. Pres.: Mrs. Frank Talmage 
V. Pres.: Mrs. T. W. Moore 
Secretary: Miss Lola Hahn 
Treasurer: Mrs. Beatrice Trib- 

bett. 
Sergeant-at-arms: Mrs. R. Ber- 

toni. 
Chaplain: Mrs. Herman Hahn 

War Mothers 

President: Mrs. Ora Rothwell 
V. President: Mrs. Delia Kinert 
Secretary: Mrs. Lida Rupp 
Treasurer: Mrs. Kittie Duff 
Chaplain: Mrs. Anna Holmes 

Rotary Club No. 4030 

President: Harry J. Wible 
V. Pres.: E. Keith Rothwell 
Sec.-Treas.: H. Virgil Wynd 
Sergeant-at- arms: Ennis A. 

Downing. 
Board of Directors: Austin W. 
Schaffenacker, George J. 
Smith, Guy F. Wait, George 
L. Meister, Harry Wible, 
Keith Rothwell, Virgil Wynd, 
Organized November 13, 1936 
Meeting place — Methodist Chu- 
rch every Thursday at 12:15. 
Membership thirty-five. 

SCHOOLS 

Mount Pulaski Township 
High School 

Superintendent: Lloyd L Hargis 



History and coaching: Dolph 
Stanley. 

Mathematics: Otto Ey 

Science: Harry Lucas 

Manual Training: Herbert Sti- 
vers. 

Music: Paul Merry 

English: Helen Moore 

Commercial: Martha Moore 

Home Economics: Alberta Voile 

Latin: Florence Wylder 

Janitors : Ernest Goodpaster 
and Charles Hanslow. 

Directors: Pres.: Wilhelm G. 
Kautz. 

Sec: H. Virgil Wynd 

Harry M]artin, Charles Ey, John 
T. Hershey, John Tendick, 
George Underhill. 

Mount Pulaski Grade School 

Principal: Zenobia Zimmermann 

Seventh: Lola Hahn 

Sixth: Milferd Hanson 

Fifth: Dorothy Ann Downing 

Fourth: Elizabeth Mayer 

Third: Grace Gehlbach 

Second: Barbara Barnes 

First: Florence Pinney 

Music and Phy. Ed. Ruth Peter- 
son. 

Janitor: John Curtis 

Board of Directors: president: 
Orville Martin. 

Secretary: C. M. Merriman 
Kelsey Anderson, G. S. Con- 
nelly, Theo. Zimmermann, 
George L. Meister. 

Zion Lutheran Parochial 

Teacher: Arthur Wittrock 

State Basketball Team 

(Pictured herein) 

Dolph Stanley, Coach 
George Connelly, Guard 
Merle Wilham, Forward 
Carl Wilham, Guard 
Franklin Connolley, Forward 
Harry Milner, Forward 
Junior Scroggin, Manager 
Boyd Hahn, Forward 
Earl Stockton, Forward 
Herschel Hahn, Center 
Harry Martin, Guard 
Darald Staley, Forward 



We Extend Our 
Sincere hanks 



To the thousands of customers we 
have served during our many 
years of service to the residents 
of Mount Pulaski and Community. 
it has been thru their loyal patron- 
age that this institution has pros- 
pered and grown. 

We pledge the same sincere and 
courteous treatment in the com- 
ing months and years. 



Curtis Filling Station 



A Community's 
Center of Trade 



is determined by 

Quality of Merchandise 

and 

Character of Service 

and we pledge our Best in Both to 
the residents of this community in 
the coming years. 



AITCHISON'S 



ESTABLISHED 1932 



"SINCE 1903" 



We have been serving MOUNT 
PULASKI and COMMUNITY in 
the business of GRAIN BUYING 
as well as in furnishing LUMBER 
TO BUILD better and more mod- 
ern homes in this city and sur- 
rounding territory. 



Mount Pulaski Farmers 
Grain and Elevator Company 

ORVILLE MARTIN, Manager 



MOUNT PULASKI'S 

ONE HUNDRED 
YEARS 



The history of this city in the past 
can well be the inspiration for the 
future and is a goal for those of us 
carrying on today, to maintain 
and help make the coming years 
still greater for Mount Pulaski and 
Community. 



BROWN'S SERVICE STATION 

"Gas For Less" 

OILS GREASES TIRES ACCESSORIES 

ESTABLISHED 1935 



We Dedicate 



THIS 
PAGE IN 

"ONE HUNDRED YEARS 
OF MOUNT PULASKI" 

TO THE FOUNDER 

OF THIS ESTABLISHMENT 

THE LATE 

C. R SCHAFER 

ONE OF THE EARLY PIONEERS 

WHO DID MUCH TO BUILD 

AND SHAPE THE DESTINIES OF 

THIS COMMUNITY 



C. F. SCHAFER HDWE. CO. 

ESTABLISHED 1864 



A PIONEER BUSINESS 

IN A PIONEER COMMUNITY 

ESTABLISHED IN 1922. THE OLDEST 
STATE ACCREDITED HATCHERY. 

We are proud of the community we operate in and 
confidently expect to continue to serve in the future as 
we have in the past. 

DEALERS FOR 

KELVINATOR 

ELECTROLUX 

AUTOMATIC COAL STOKER 

ZENITH RADIO 

BUPANE GAS 

TAPPAN RANGES 

1922-1937 

THE CHESTNUT HATCHERY 

"Capacity 160,000 Chicks" 
CHESTNUT MOUNT PULASKI 



Not 100 Years 


Old 


But- 




Old Enough 




to realize that we 
fine community in 
up our business. 


chose a mighty 
which to open 


May we be worthy of the fine heritage given 
us by the pioneers of this community, and 
do our part in keeping this progressive 
spirit alive. 


*•«. LAW'S 


25c to $1 



PROUD 



TO BE A PART OF 
THIS PROGRESSIVE 
COMMUNITY... 

It has been a pleasure to have served the 
residents of this city and surrounding territory 
and to share in its activities and its growth. 
May the coming years be just as progressive 
and forward-looking — just as happy and 
friendly as have been those of the century 
past. 



SCHULTZ 
GROCERY 



MOUNT PULASKI 

and Its HOMES 

1 00 years ago pioneers with 
a vision and the desire to 
found a city and build 
homes selected the site of 
Mount Pulaski. 

It has been our privilege 
to have played a part in the 
building life of this com- 
munity, aiding in the build- 
ing and acquiring of homes. 

J. M. ROTHWELL 

LUMBER COMPANY 



ALMOST A 

HALF CENTURY 
of SERVICE 

ESTABLISHED IN 1889 

This firm has been a part of 
the community serving as the 
source of Men's and Boy's 
Clothing and Furnishings. 

Sharing in the growth and pro- 
gress of the past years, we hope 
the future justifies the spirit of 
the founders and builders of 
Mount Pulaski. 

MYERS BROS. 



Mount Pulaski 
Has Not Stood Still 
the Past 100 Years-- 



And we are proud of the fact that 
this little city has ever been on the 
move, going forward and keeping 
pace with the ever-changing world 
of today. May our service to this 
community always be as progressive 
and satisfactory. 



N F. G Pease & Co. 

j MOUNT PULASKI LATHAM 

r ESTABLISHED 1 904 




A. F. LIPP 






INSURANCE OF 
ALL KINDS 






ESTABLISHED 1915 



A Personal Message 
To Our Customers 



This firm wishes to express its sincere 
thanks for the support and patron- 
age given us, since we have been a 
part of the business life of Mount 
Pulaski and Community. 

Dodge and Plymouth automo- 
biles are assets to any com- 
munity — we are proud to 
handle them. 



Community Garage 

AUSTIN SCHAFFENACKER, Proprietor 



MOUNT PULASKI 
GRAIN COMPANY 

MOUNT PULASKI, ILLINOIS 



For over forty five years this 
company has been an integral 
part of the business life of this 
community, assuming a share 
of all worthwhile community 
activities. At all times en- 
deavoring to perform an ef- 
ficient service in the merchan- 
dising of grain. 



ESTABLISHED 189 



WE ARE GRATEFUL 

For the splendid patronage and for 
the many friendships that have come 
our way during our part of the past 
100 years. May 1936-2036 be even 
more progressive and enjoyable. 

West Side Food Mart 

WILLARD and NORMA KAUTZ, Proprietors 



fSTABLISHED JAN. 1, 1922 

This firm has endeavored to give the 
community a service worthy of the 
growth of this territory. 

May the next hundred years see as 
much advancement as has been made 
in the past. 

Connolley Drug Company 



NOT PIONEERS- 
BUT BOOSTERS 



For Mount Pulaski and community 
in helping to promote the good 
and welfare of all. 

We will help to make the next 
100 years another period of pro- 
gress in this community — with 

PHILLIPS "66" 
QASOLINE 



BARNEY SCROGGIN 

FILLING STATION 

ON ROUTE 121 



Our Customers Are the 
Best Friends We Have! 



Our progress has been built 
on the foundation laid by 
striving to give our customer.* 
the kind of service and court- 
eous treatment they have a 
right to expect. 

We appreciate their friend- 
ship as well as their patronage 
and we pledge our best to the 
community during the coming 
years. 



Vail's Food Market 

ESTABLISHED 1936 



Pleasing People 



- - - is not so hard to do when 
you do the job the way you 
would want it done yourself. 

This is the simple but effec- 
tive formula, whether your 
needs be large or small, under 
which we operate. 

May we serve you in the fu- 
ture as we have during the past 
year. 



ZIMMERMANNTS 

CASH * CARRY 



ESTABLISHED 1936 



All Eyes Are On 
Mount Pulaski 



This firm is proud of having 
contributed a small part to 
the growth of this commun- 
ity. 

Primarily, a business of serv- 
ice, our aim has always been 
to serve the community in ev- 
ery way possible to the best 
of our ability. 



Fred Holmes Garage 



It Has Been 
Our Privilege 



AND PLEASURE to have shared 
in the last twenty-five years of 
the growth and prosperity of 
Mount Pulaski, and we trust that 
the years of the second Centen- 
nial period will be more out- 
standing than those of the past 
One Hundred Years. We are 
grateful to a loyal community. 



CI 



ear's 






1937 

The Farmers Bank of Mount Pulaski has been 
closely associated with the growth of the 
community for the past 64 years. Established 
to give to the community a banking service 
commensurate with the expansion and growth 
of the community, it is ever our policy to 
foster and encourage further progress of any 
commendable nature. 




THE FARMERS BANK 

ESTABLISHED 1872 



Congratulations 



TO THE PIONEERS 
OF YESTERDAY 

They have built a fine community, and we 
"YOUNGSTERS" will do our best to keep 
right on building it. 













omom 








m 


















jiff ?! 




; if| 


fclllllllll 




K 


m* 4 


I 































WILBERT H. SCHAHL 
Director 

NORMA SCHAHL 
Lady Assistant 



SCHAHL FUNERAL HOME 





IN THE LIFE OF 
MOUNT PULASKI 
AND COMMUNITY 

Through its complete banking services to in- 
dividuals in all walks of life and to represen- 
tative local business concerns of every type 
. . . and by its whole-hearted participation in 
all constructive community activities . . . this 
Bank earnestly seeks to be an active force in 
the life of Mount Pulaski and community, and 
to contribute its full measure towards insur- 
ing another "Hundred Years of Progress." 



The First National Bank 

ESTABLISHED 1888 



A PIONEER INDUSTRY 

of THIS COMMUNITY 



ESTABLISHED 1902 



&££•■?, 




: 'V- ■■'.-■ 

■ 







IflSKi 




Towers 

Tanks 

Tank 
Heaters 

Pumps 

Plumbing 

and 
Heating 

Pipe 
Fittings 



Officers: 

President 
Geo. Rupp 

V. President 
Carl Lipp 

Secretary- 
Treasurer 

A. F. Lipp 



Mount 
Pulaski 
Illinois. 



MOUNT PULASKI WIND MILL CO. 

MANUFACTURERS OF THE YANKEE WINDMILL 
with Automatic Pump Governor 



It Is A Wonderful 
Achievement 



to have attained the distinction 
of a Centennial City, for 100 
years dates back to real Pioneer 
Days. 

Many changes have taken place 
but thru all these years the prin- 
ciple of forward-looking move- 
ments has prevailed and we are 
proud to have been a part of 
this progressive spirit for a por- 
tion of these 100 years. 



BUCKLES & LEE GARAGE 

SIDNEY LEE CLAUDE BUCKLES 



It Is Our Privilege 



To become a part of this 
community after a period of 
almost one hundred years. 
We feel that the inspiration 
afforded us by the pioneers 
of this community will show 
first in the growth of the com- 
munity. 

We pledge our support in any 
program to further this 
growth. 



The Mount Pulaski Theatre 



A Modern Garage 



fully equipped to render the fin- 
est in Service and Quality 
Workmanship is the contribu- 
tion of this firm to the progres- 
sive and up to the minute stand- 
ard of this community. Just as 
the pioneers found the horse 
and buggy the dependable 
mode of travel, so today their 
descendants find CHEVROLET 
the most dependable car. 



Unland Chevrolet Sales 

CLARENCE UNLAND, Proprietor 



62 Years of 
Faithful Service 



Founded by R. S. Hershey in 1875 
the Hershey Funeral Establishment 
has given the same courteous effi- 
cient service to the community for 
more than a half century. 

The present management has 
served the community since 1910. 
In that time weathering the financial, 
commercial and other vicissitudes 
that come with years of service. 

This firm was founded on the basis 
of faithful, honest service and is still 
able to withstand the storms of ev- 
eryday life and expects to serve you 
in the future on your approval. 



John T. Hershey 

FUNERAL SERVICE 



SIEB'S 
HATCHERY 

During the past nine years has furthered 
the interests of the community by giving a 
complete Poultry Service. 

It has been and will continue to be our 
policy to give to the community the utmost 
in Service. 

ROMAN ROMER, Mgr. 



FOR OVER 
HALF A CENTURY 

This establishment has served the community. 
One of the pioneers, we still approve the 
continued growth and expansion of the com- 
munity. 

W. F. BINDER 

WOODWORK WAGON WORK 

Established 1867 



Serving the community for a number of years. It 
has been a privilege to contribute to its pros- 
perity. 

ALBERT F. DILLSAVER 

BARBER SHOP 



As the community prospers 
we shall continue to merit its 
patronage. 

KROGER STORES 



It has been our privilege to share 
in the growth of the community. 

J. H. SHRADER 

BARBER SHOP 



1912-1937 

25 Years of Service 

To this community. During which 
time we have seen many changes. May 
the community still prosper even more 
in the future. 

BERTONI'S CAFE 

R. BERTONI 



It Was Our Privilege 

to have been a part of the growth 
of this community and to share in 
its development for over thirty 
years. 

EY'S BAKERY 

ESTABLISHED 1904 



THIS FIRM 



Has been a pioneer in Electrical and Radio 
Service in this territory and has managed 
numberless transactions to the advantage of 
all concerned as a part of their community 
service. 



Stall's Radio & Electric Shop 

Established 1933 



Filling a Need I 

This community, primarily a farm center for the 
past one hundred years, has prospered as the 
surrounding community has prospered. 

Buy and Selling of Poultry, Eggs and Cream has 
been our part in the building of this community. 

Kratzer's Place 

ESTABLISHED 1927 



1V37 Begins Another 
One Hundred Years 

We Delight In Presenting the 

NEW 1937 PONTIAC 




SERVING THE COMMUNITY AS 
DEALERS FOR 

G. M. C. TRUCKS 
ALUS CHALMERS 
NEW IDEA 

TRACTORS-COMBINES 
FARM MACHINERY 

BROOKER'S 

SUPER-SERVICE 

E. K. BROOKER 



Professional Men 
of Mount Pulaski 



DR. G.S.CONNELLY 

PHYSICIAN 

DR. C. E. HILDRETH 

PHYSICIAN AND SURGEON 

DR. F.W.REINDERS 

DENTIST 

DR. G. F. WAIT 

DENTIST 

DR. L O. REESE 

DENTIST 

DR.C. M.MERRIMAN 

VETERINARIAN 

MR. GEORGE J. SMITH 

ATTORN EY-AT-LAW 

MR. BURTON A. TYLER 

ATTORN EY-AT-LAW 



ESTABLISHED 1929 




WOODRUM'S 

WIDE-A-WAKE CAFE 




JANE UNDERHILL BEAUTY SALON 

Jane E. Underhill, Proprietor West Side Square 



SERVICE 



COMBINED WITH 



QUALITY 



Makes An Ideal Combination 
in Any Generation! 




DAN J. FUHRER 

SERVICE STATION 

STANDARD OIL PRODUCTS 



UNDERHILL'S 



1919 to 1937 




Serving the community with a mo- 
dern up-to-date Meat Market for 
over eighteen years. May we con- 
tinue to merit your patronage in 
the future as we have in the past. 



Underhill s Meat Market 



LIGHTING 



As well as lightening the du- 
ties of the home and busi- 
ness houses in this progres- 
sive city has been the privi- 
lege and pleasure of this 
company for many years. 

ELECTRICITY is truly a 
"Modern Alladin" in a Hun- 
dred and One ways. It is 
Safe, Convenient and Most 
Economical, too. 



CENTRAL ILLINOIS 
ELECTRIC and GAS CO. 



MOUNT PULASKI 

TIMES-NEWS 

ON THE FIRST DAY OF AUGUST 1932 

THE MOUNT PULASKI WEEKLY NEWS 

and 

THE MOUNT PULASKI TIMES 

were consolidated to form the 

Mount Pulaski Times-News 

which has since been selected as one of the 
best 50 weekly newspapers among the 675 in 
the state. 

Member of National Editorial Association 

Member of Illinois Press Association 

The Times-News has its own PHOTO- 
ENGRAVING PLANT which was installed in 
July 1935. 

PERSONNEL 

Harry J. Wible, Publisher and Editor 
Paul E. Beidler, City Editor 
Mrs. Harold Hargrave, Bookkeeper 
Paul R. Moore, Advertising Manager 
W. Donald Wible, Foreman 
Clifton H. Leckbee, Compositor 
Noretta McVey, Linotypist 



St